DEV Community

Johannes Dienst
Johannes Dienst

Posted on

Being a Developer Advocate: Week 21

This weeks post is late as I caught a cold on friday and rested for the weekend :/

And I am not fully recovered yet, so this is a little less unstructured than usual.

There was much going on this week. Apart from two talks I helped in moderating our monthly Meetup. If you want to talk about something related to testing, shoot me a message and you might get a nice sketchnote of your talk, too!

I noticed a few things giving my talks and moderating:

  • There is not fear any more when I have to speak publicly in English (second language for me).
  • Livecoding is so much fun, when you are confident and able to spot errors and correct them on the fly
  • Doing something for our community feels so nice as I really care about people and can be authentic and energetic.

On another note: Our Twitter engagement and views dropped to pracically zero. Is this the new normal now with everything that happens there? :(

Apart from that I managed to brush up our companies YouTube channel and it looks more professional now :D

Also the docs rework is coming along nicely. Our goal is to structure everything in a nice way. So far we have:

  • Integrated our Gitpod-TryOut repository
  • Removed some pages at the start -> Less clicks to Getting started (only 1 now!)
  • Added more Guides to help with using our product
  • Restructured and expanded our Troubleshooting section

Next week I will go on and improve our API reference with more examples and gifs.

This is fun!

Top comments (0)