DEV Community

Cover image for My 100 Days of SwiftUI begin here
Jonathan Giardino
Jonathan Giardino

Posted on

My 100 Days of SwiftUI begin here

Here I am, writing my first blog post ever.

I will write a journal about switching from web and front-end development to iOS development sharing the topics and my learning process, as well as my understanding and point of view.

Why am I doing this? Why would one start to blog?
I googled and searched for this as well and tons of answers came up:

  • Fame or creating a personal brand
  • Making a side income
  • Having an online presence
  • Share Your Knowledge
  • Become an authority in your industry
  • the list goes on and on...

Then, a few days ago I was running and listening to Syntax, a podcast about Web development hosted by Wes Bos(@wesbos) and Scott Tolinski(@stolinski), and they were talking exactly about it.

To sum up, if you want to start blogging, YouTubing or podcasting about something you need to ask yourself "why?", otherwise it can get really tough to keep up with it.

So I did, and the answer is that I want to document each step of my journey, to strengthen my learning process and knowledge about the topic, but also to inspire other fellow beginners to feel proud and happy about learning new things.

It is easy to feel frustrated in this field, especially when watching tutorials or taking courses. It's easy to compare ourselves to the major experts in the fields, or feeling "not capable" when after watching a tutorial we open the editor and we don't know where to start.

The truth is that each little step we take, it's a huge chunk of knowledge we did not have yesterday, and that is a success.

That's my reason, that's why I started blogging about my journey.
To strengthen my knowledge and to literally visualize my progress at each blog post.

Now, why iOS, why Swift?

Apple has been in my life forever, in different shapes and colors.
I have been working in Apple Premium Resellers, Apple Store, in Corporate and I have been an Apple enthusiast for most of my adult life.

About one month and half ago, I decided to look into Swift for the first time and fell in love with it. I bought a great course by Angela Yu(@yu_angela) on Udemy and studied every day until I reached half the course.

I felt that I was grasping the fundamentals but I was doing nothing to retain and make this language mine.

There I decided that I needed to build an app from scratch, because in the course I came across so many concepts that it felt overwhelming to keep up with.

(I am currently designing the app and will start building once I complete the wireframes!)

I put that course on pending for the time being and embarked on the #100DaysOfSwiftUI, a 100 days journey/commitment created by Paul Hudson(@twostraws) to study and practice Swift and SwiftUI 1 hour a day, starting over from the basics.

And this is what I will be doing while building my first app!

Any feedback, comment or advice is super appreciated, in fact it is encouraged.

Let's connect!
Website: jonathangiardino.com
Twitter: @jonathan_gardn
Medium: @jonathangiardino

Photo by Dmitry Chernyshov on Unsplash

Top comments (0)