DEV Community

Jose Gonzalez
Jose Gonzalez

Posted on

Going to bed by 10pm and stop playing World of Warcraft - Day 4

Dear journal,

Today was a good day. She looked my way and smiled...

...oh wait. Wrong text file. 🤭

Good day boys and girls!

Welcome to another entry on this journey:

  1. Go to bed by 10pm
  2. Stop playing World of Warcraft (again).

For those of you who don't know what's going, I invite you to check out the intro to the series.

A quick reminder, I'm sharing this to help you. Please, don't forget to take action!

Let's continue the journey.

Day 4

  1. Coming home🏠
    Staying up later than usual had taken their toll.

    Eyes were heavy (but not burning, yay!). I had nothing plan for the afternoon. Other than dinner and write my Day 3 entry.

    Missus was tired herself and dinner was take out, a rare occasion for our weekday dinners (yes, I know, I'm spoiled).

  2. After dinner 🍽️
    As mentioned earlier, I committed to nothing. The only thing on my list was to write the daily journey entry and head to bed afterwards.

    A bit light on this entry, right? Sometimes you got to take it easy. All you need to do is ignore your inner judge. You know that nagging voice inside tell you that you must always be busy.

  3. After kids in bed 🛏️🛏️
    Missus and I were strict this time: straight to bed after putting kids to bed. And we did.

    I played some Pokemon FireRed while she was watching Doug (yep, the 90s show!)

  4. Bed time 🛏️💤
    I was in bed by 9:30pm.

    Although, I didn't fall asleep until after watching 1-hour episode of Troy series in Netflix.

    Hey, I'm making some small improvements.

How did we do? 🤔

  1. Get to bed by 10pm?
    First win of this journey!

    Although I wasn't sleeping by 10pm, I was already falling asleep in bed.

    Most importantly, I was hanging out with my best friend. We were spending the much needed quality time. We were being silly.

    I won't let my inner judge make me feel guilty that I'm failing to meet my "goal".

  2. Stop playing World of Warcraft
    It gets better. Today was another win. A much bigger win than you can imagine. It can only get better going forward.

    It's too early to claim victory. Relapse is still very possible. It'd not be pretty. I'm vigilant and paying attention to my inner judge.

    Anxiety and withdrawal are dwindling. My serenity is slowly coming back. I'm more present, enjoy the moment if you will.

    The inner judge can't exist in the present. It draws its power from the past and the future.

Conclusion

First win for both challenges in this journey.

To be honest with you, not playing World of Warcraft has bigger benefits in the long run.

Switching sleeping hours is a gradual process. Maybe, I should've set the time for 10:30pm and gradually moved to 10pm.

What would your journal say? 🙂

Thanks for reading. Till tomorrow!

Top comments (0)