DEV Community

Jose Gonzalez
Jose Gonzalez

Posted on • Updated on

No social media in the mornings - Day 6

Sixth entry and second to last entry on this no social media in the mornings journey. For more details you can check out my article what would your life be without social media in the morning.

Remember, my main goal is to inspire and motivate you.

Shall we continue to the journey?

Day 6

  1. Turning off the alarm. ⏰
    I had to do it again. The missus and I stayed up last minute having some drinks and doing some gaming. Usually, we don't stay up very late but we got into conversation. It's one of our things.

    I wanted to run early in the morning and get a good head start in day. But I was too sleepy and woke up later than planned.

  2. Let's run! πŸƒβ€β™‚οΈ
    Since today it's the weekend, my runs are longer. I don't think of how far or how long I'm going to run. I have a few tracks in my head and come back home. Simple is better for my brain.

    I didn't feel like exploring and decided to go to with my default run around my local lake.

    It was perfect spring weather. My pace, breathing and mindset all were great. But most importantly, I was present in almost each step of the way enjoying the beautiful day.

  3. Inspired and motivated
    I was so inspired and motivated that I didn't think an article would capture what I was experiencing. So, I decided to make a short video instead:

    I hope you enjoy it!

  4. Easy rest of day
    As explained in the video, I took it easier the rest of the day. Just handled some family finances and prepared the the rest of the week.

    In case you are wondering, yes, I had another drink. Wow, I sound like an alcoholic now. 🍸

First time checking social media

  • Twitter: 12:45pm
  • Email: 12:30pm
  • Dev.to: 1:00pm
  • Crypto currency: 2:30pm

Hey, not bad for a weekend, which is my weak point. But I did pretty good!

Conclusion

Rest is very important to the mind, body and spirit. All of us have different ways to rest it up and recharge those batteries.

Sometimes, we need less distraction in our lives in order to enjoy the present...the now.

What about coding? What about 'hacking' on my side project? That's important but other things are more important in life.

It is true that I provide software solutions for my clients. But that doesn't define me as a person, as a human being.

What would you discover on your journey? πŸ™‚

Thanks for reading. Till tomorrow!

Top comments (0)