DEV Community

Joseph Lozano
Joseph Lozano

Posted on • Originally published at josephlozano.xyz

Show Dev: One Million Words

For the readers of my website (which doesn't always get cross-posted to Dev.to), you will know that for this month (as well as following months), I am going to attempt to write a blog post every weekday, inspired by TreTuna's 1000 words for 1000 days challenge.

Now, the spirit of the challenge isn't to write 1000 public words (private notes also count), but I was thinking about how awesome it would be to have a blog with one million words.

Inspired by this, I am setting out to write at least one million words in my blog (though not necessarily in 1000 days). To help me reach this goal, I built a tool that takes an RSS feed and counts the number of words written. Accordingly, I have named it One Million Words.

This project is still very much a work in progress (for example, it expects your posts to be in a <main> tag), but I wanted to give this community a first peek.

The code is open source. I am very much open to feedback!

Without further ado: One Million Words

Some work I'd like to do:

  • Save requests to the database
  • Work on the design.
  • Automatically update when feeds are updated.
  • Support content in any arbitrary HTML tag, not just <main>

In future posts, I will walk through the code, the design decisions I made, and how I deployed it.

PS: If you are looking for a feed to try, and have at least one post on Dev.to, try https://dev.to/feed/username, eg: https://dev.to/feed/joseph_lozano

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
swyx profile image
swyx

congrats and great to see you pick up on this!

Collapse
 
tretuna profile image
Tre Tuna

Excited to have you starting the journey too!