DEV Community

AJ
AJ

Posted on

Learning with ZTM Academy

Many have come before me writing about their learning path(s) - the platforms and tools they have used. I won't lie; I will share some of my experiences to help guide beginners and those going through the endless cycle of tutorial hell (just as I did).

Before we dive in, I would love to, but I do not work or get paid by ZTM Academy. I am here to give my honest thoughts on the platform and what you can get from it.

But first, who am I?

TL;DR - Growing up, I wanted to focus on Art. But when I went to select my classes in college (this was in the UK at age 16), my mother decided for me (after a parently pep talk) that I take ICT (Information and Communication Technology). As much as I was resistant (literally in tears) to my mum's decision, I'm thankful she made it for me. As the saying goes, mothers do know best. Because of my mum, I am a Project Manager and have been for 14 years. Ek, I'm showing my age now.

I would spend endless nights playing around with updating my Myspace page (anyone remembers that social site?). I had a real ack for HTML, CSS, and JavaScript.

The Tutorial Hell

I wish I had progressed with the front end, but life got in the way. Trying to get back into it after so many years, I felt stuck!

I read blog post after blog post looking for free and paid resources. You name it - FreeCodeCamp, Udemy, Scrimba, YouTube, W3Schools, Pluralsight, SheCodes, Nucamp, and plenty more. I researched, trialed, and probably tried it. Please note that I do not dislike any of them. Each platform is good and to one's personal preference, but after reading these blogs: The best way to learn coding and Mistakes I made when learning to code, it had me thinking.

Where am I now?

TL;DR - I took a few Udemy classes to get certificates. Let's face it, you have been there too. Who doesn't like being rewarded with something, knowing you've completed it? I finished the SheCodes workshops in 2021 and received my four certificates - from Basic through to React, but sadly I didn't put anything into practice afterward.

This year I committed myself to look for the right learning platform to inspire me daily to practice what I've learned and want to wake up feeling the urge to keep going. I had seen ads on social mention ZTM Academy. I signed up for the newsletter and read Andrei Neagoie's (Founder & Lead Instructor of ZTM) emails. I would go to the website often, read more of the posted blogs, and wait to hear what Andrei had to say. Gauge what type of instructor he was and what information he was sharing. The emails were highly informative.

Luck would have it when I received Andrei's email ahead of Black Friday with a discount. I still recall the subject line of that email, 'Bruno is out of office... this is very good news for you!'. That caught my attention, and I was intrigued by why it was good news. I opened the email, and it was good news - 20% off an annual membership. That was an offer I couldn't refuse. My motivation spiked, and I joined the academy.

Fast forward a bit

My coding journey is still in progress, and I plan to complete the 'Complete Python Developer in 2023: Zero To Mastery' end of January/beginning of February 2023.

Here is what the academy offers

Quiz
You can take the quiz if you need help figuring out where to start. Once you have taken the quiz (which would take no more than 5 minutes to complete), you're emailed your Custom Career Path Recommendation.

But, you might ask yourself, can I get a new path? Absolutely.

Career Paths
ZTM offer curated learning paths that honestly take the hard work off your hands, meaning you don't have to find roadmaps and build your own learning path (unless, of course, you want to). It's all done for you. The career paths, lectures, and workshops are designed for all levels of learners.

The Course Videos
Andrei and the other ZTM instructors update videos so what is being taught is up-to-date. The nice touch is that they do leave older videos in place as a reference, as programs are usually coded in the old way, which you should be aware of.

There is also a lecture feedback form to share feedback or any issues encountered when taking a lecture.

ZTM Passport
The ZTM Passport helps track your learning streak and achievements, providing badges. Who doesn't like receiving acknowledgment for their success? I access my passport frequently. It helps me stay motivated and build a learning habit.

Community & ZTM Campus

Discord Community
TL;DR - ZTM Academy has built an around-the-clock online community) where you can get help from instructors, TAs, mentors, alums, and fellow students. It's also where you can feel part of something more significant.
As much as learning is fun, you want to stay energized and avoid burnout. Another neat thing about the community is that there are areas where you can discuss general or random topics.

My favorite channel is the Discussion of the week. Another nice touch is having an accountability buddy. As mentioned on the Community page, "Learning alone is hard." I believe that to be true! That is why an accountability buddy is crucial to take your skills (problem-solve together) and confidence to the next level.

Campus
The campus is virtual, where you can attend monthly live events. Meet instructors, get career advice, and attend workshops just like an actual college campus but from the comfort of your home.

Academy Workshops
Not only does ZTM have the courses, but there are also academy workshops that cover topics to help fill gaps and introduce new learning concepts, practices, and methods. They also teach you hands-on skills like your personal online security, career advice, and how to future-proof yourself by building your 5-year plan to achieve your biggest goals.

Exercises
When going through The Complete Web Developer in 2023: Zero to Mastery videos, exercises are given to test what you've learned and help retain that new knowledge. My favorite exercise was Flexbox Froggy. So much fun!

Monthly Coding Challenges
There are monthly challenges to help improve your coding skills among thousands of other developers. No matter your skill level, you can participate in those challenges to accelerate your learning, coding skills, and confidence.

Conclusion

ZTM Academy has given me the building blocks I need to build my coding foundation. Although I'm still going through courses, I have my accountability buddy and community backing me up and the passport to keep me moving forward and thriving to reach my goal.

Happy New Year's Eve and happy learning!

Top comments (0)