DEV Community

Cover image for I built CovidInvaders.com in honor of the vaccine (and my 16th birthday)
Josh Ternyak
Josh Ternyak

Posted on

I built CovidInvaders.com in honor of the vaccine (and my 16th birthday)

Hey devs :)
In celebration of the recent announcements of the Pfizer and Moderna vaccines, I decided to build my first game, CovidInvaders!

I built CovidInvaders with vanilla javascript (along with some Jquery), as well as some handy game-engine inspiration I found on GitHub.

I thought this would be a fun project to help people celebrate the coronavirus vaccine and help take some stress off.

Feel free to give me any tips or suggestions I could use to improve the game! I've noticed that it stutters on older browsers and devices, so I'm hoping some Javascript expert here can help ;)

Top comments (30)

Collapse
 
leomjaques profile image
leo πŸ‘¨πŸ»β€πŸ’»

THE MUSIC AHAHAHAHAH

Collapse
 
joshternyak profile image
Josh Ternyak

Lol I'm a rapper

Collapse
 
charanweb profile image
CHARAN

How can i play? It looks good

Collapse
 
joshternyak profile image
Josh Ternyak

It's free! Go to covidinvaders.com and press enter to play. Thank you!

Collapse
 
charanweb profile image
CHARAN

I opened in my college break as soon as i click. The background song get attention of every student in my classπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

Thread Thread
 
joshternyak profile image
Josh Ternyak

Haha that's hilarious! What's your high score?

Thread Thread
 
charanweb profile image
CHARAN

Im basically introvert. As soon as everyone sees me i switched off my phone. I will play now. Its looks awesome. What is the language you used?

Thread Thread
 
charanweb profile image
CHARAN

I just played its awesome but while i clicking the arrowup/arrowdown and shoot button. Only one btn is working.

Thread Thread
 
joshternyak profile image
Josh Ternyak

It was built with HTML, CSS, Vanilla JS, and Jquery. You might just have slow internet.

Collapse
 
krisaore profile image
krisaore

The trap beat make everything prettier :) Nice game by the way.

Collapse
 
joshternyak profile image
Josh Ternyak

Haha thank you!

Collapse
 
janpauldahlke profile image
jan paul

best rap part ever. <3 it

Collapse
 
joshternyak profile image
Josh Ternyak

Thanks! Wanna collab?

Collapse
 
janpauldahlke profile image
jan paul

nah, i am coding "hard" enough at my job. but from curiosity, did you rap this? anyway, great project man.

Thread Thread
 
joshternyak profile image
Josh Ternyak

Oh okay haha. Yes it's an original song by yours truly. Thanks

Collapse
 
braydentw profile image
Brayden W ⚑️

Cool Josh! Love to see you making more and more progress.

Great dedication!

Collapse
 
joshternyak profile image
Josh Ternyak

Thanks Brayden!

Collapse
 
crimsonmed profile image
MΓ©dΓ©ric Burlet • Edited

Would have loved a little description article on how you build it ;)
But looks awesome gg

Collapse
 
joshternyak profile image
Josh Ternyak

I am making one right as we speak!

Collapse
 
joshternyak profile image
Josh Ternyak

Feel free to try to beat my high score ;)

Collapse
 
jjokah profile image
John Johnson Okah • Edited

Lol. High score 2Billion? it's not possible.
The highest possible is around 20 30 points. (for the fixed 30sec margin)
Anyways great job!

Collapse
 
joshternyak profile image
Josh Ternyak

Haha thanks John!

Collapse
 
galvessbx profile image
Guilherme Rodrigues

Hahaha Nice tracksound and gameplay!

Collapse
 
joshternyak profile image
Josh Ternyak

Thanks!

Collapse
 
p4tin profile image
Paul Fortin

I posted this to my facebook, time for some relaxation and fun... Thanks Josh!

Collapse
 
joshternyak profile image
Josh Ternyak

Thanks Paul! I'm glad you like the game

Collapse
 
ayushkishor profile image
Ayush Kishor

Looks Amazing Josh, made me hit that follow button πŸ˜†

Collapse
 
joshternyak profile image
Josh Ternyak

Haha, thank you so much.

Collapse
 
udithaishan profile image
Uditha Ishan

It's awesome!

Collapse
 
joshternyak profile image
Josh Ternyak

thank you !