DEV Community

Joshua Shinkle
Joshua Shinkle

Posted on

Miro: The Infinite Whiteboard

Discovering Miro

Several weeks ago, I began coding my summer computer science project: building an iOS social media app using swift and Firebase.

I began planning and creating a schedule for my project. As I was working, my dad walked by my desk and suggested I use Miro to help my planning process.

I had no idea what Miro was or what it did. My dad said his software engineering company uses it constantly.

I was curious and decided to give Miro a try. It revolutionized my entire planning process.

What is Miro?

If you are unfamiliar with Miro as I was several weeks ago, here’s a succinct description: Miro is a free, online, infinite whiteboard.

A new, blank board can be created on Miro.com where it appears as a white, grid-filled, web page.

Here you have access to a range of tools from sticky notes and text boxes to a large collection of framework and mind-mapping templates.

Why I Use Miro

I am still new to Miro so, instead of boring you with all of its amazing features, I will simply tell you how I use it.

I am an extremely organized person and some may even say OCD to an extent.

Accordingly, Miro wonderfully met my need to be able to organize my thoughts on paper in the easiest and most powerful way possible.

Kanban Framework

Currently, I use Miro primarily for the Kanban framework it provides.

I use this for managing and scheduling the days in my week. It helps me clarify what I have done thus far, what I am currently working on, and what I will start next.

For me, this framework is a life saver when it comes to staying on task and working efficiently.

Story Mapping

Miro’s story mapping template is also another favorite of mine. I created an expansive story map complete with different releases and a backlog for my entire project.

Through the story mapping template, I established the order for working through my project.

It helped me break down the task of building an iOS social media app into smaller components. This prevented the panic stage I’ve come across in the past when jumping straight into a large project with no real direction.

The story map also couples well with the Kanban framework.

At the end of each week, I repopulate my Kanban framework for the next week’s work by moving the next-in-line assignments from my story map to the Kanban backlog.

Goal Tracking

Miro also provides different visual tables.

I am currently using one of these tables to establish and track my goals for my project this summer.

I use the different rows and columns to list and analyze my goals, revealing my true purpose in creating them.

Other Tools

I’ve also been utilizing the sticky notes tool which allows you to move around different colored sticky-note-looking text boxes. The sticky notes are perfect for when I want to quickly write down an idea or comment.

Miro contains a pen tool as well to write and draw on the board. This helps me clarify a note or comment, demonstrate a relationship, or visualize a portion of my project.

Additionally, Miro has a cool feature called frames, which I use to group and visually separate different elements and tools in my board.

In Closing

While most of these tools can be used in real life, I prefer Miro to the physical versions because the tools can fit in my computer screen instead of having to move around a huge whiteboard on my wall.

The board is also infinitely large so the fear of running out of space is nonexistent.

I am still new to Miro and haven’t come close to figuring everything out yet, but I’ve loved it so far! Please leave a comment telling me how you use Miro and what you like about it!

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
wpcortes75 profile image
Walter R P Cortes

You will really like the collaborative tools... My team uses for retrospectives, brainstorming, prioritization, design sessions... Its really a great tool.

Collapse
 
joshuashinkle profile image
Joshua Shinkle

Awesome! I have definitely found that the more I experiment and play with Miro the more I love it. So many great ideas and uses bundled up in one tool.