DEV Community

jossse69
jossse69

Posted on

Introducing PETSCIITile Framework - Building Tile-Based Games with ASCII and Graphics!

What I built

Category Submission: Open-Source Game Development Framework
Description:
Hey fellow game developers and open-source enthusiasts! I'm excited to share with you my latest project, the PETSCIITile Framework. ๐Ÿš€

The PETSCIITile Framework is a tile-based game development toolkit that allows you to create awesome tile-based games, such as roguelikes and dungeon crawlers, using ASCII characters and graphics. It's all about bringing back that nostalgic retro feel while providing the flexibility to use graphical assets for a more polished look.

Link to Source Code: here

Permissive License:
The PETSCIITile Framework is licensed under the MIT License, so you can use it freely for your projects without worrying about legal restrictions.

Background

Ever since I was a kid, I've been fascinated by games and the unique charm they hold as art. As a game developer, I wanted to build a framework that captures the essence of those retro games while providing the modern capabilities of graphical assets.

How I built it

To build the PETSCIITile Framework, I utilized the power of the SFML library for graphics and window handling. SFML is an excellent open-source multimedia library that fits perfectly with my vision for this framework.

Throughout the development process, I learned new techniques for efficient map rendering, input handling, and modular properties for each tile. I also experimented with memory streams to load fonts dynamically, allowing users to customize the font style as they desire.

Additional Resources/Info

For a detailed guide on how to use the PETSCIITile Framework, you can check out the Wiki in the GitHub repository. There, you'll find step-by-step instructions, examples, and code snippets to get you started on your tile-based game development journey.

I'm thrilled to share this project with the open-source community and hope that it sparks your creativity in developing amazing tile-based games. Feel free to contribute, provide feedback, or create your own projects using the PETSCIITile Framework. Let's make some nostalgic and exciting games together! ๐ŸŽฎ๐Ÿ”ฅ

(josรฉ luiz costa beker)

Top comments (7)

Collapse
 
elliot_brenya profile image
Elliot Brenya sarfo

This is a well detailed article jossse I have learn a thing or two from this article. Thanks keep it up

Collapse
 
jossse69 profile image
jossse69 • Edited

ty, also share this frame work, i want github magic! ๐Ÿ˜€
(edit: btw any thing u want to show of to me, it would be so cool! ๐Ÿค—)

Collapse
 
elliot_brenya profile image
Elliot Brenya sarfo

Aโ€™ight I will try some magic on it

Thread Thread
 
jossse69 profile image
jossse69 • Edited

contribute to the framework too! thx!
(edit: i followed u)

Collapse
 
pablosoifer1 profile image
Draculinio

Niceeeeeee, lately I have some nostalgia about how things were in the past. I will follow this!

Collapse
 
jossse69 profile image
jossse69

holy smokes! so many people have come to see this post! real cool! thx guys!!

Collapse
 
jossse69 profile image
jossse69

i need contributors for my framework PETSCIITile! i made this post for this bro, u guys dont understand?! pls come and save me time: github.com/jossse69/PETSCII-Tile