DEV Community

jschuh23
jschuh23

Posted on • Updated on

Custom PC build - suggestions welcome!

Hope all is well with everyone!! I've currently just started my journey with web development and am looking at upgrading my current PC situation as I'm finding it to be a bit slow. I'd love any thoughts and suggestions as I'm actually looking at building my own PC utilizing pcpartspicker.com. Below is the current build I've come up with along with some thoughts that led me to select what I chose. Please know when reviewing this list that I'm not a gamer nor do I intend to become one, therefore I am looking at building a very simple PC that will help with basic tasks along with web development and design (VS Code, Figma, etc.). I'm also very interested in building something that will give me options for upgrade in the future.

  • AMD Ryzen 7 2700x: Reviews seem to be excellent based on quality to price.
  • ASRock B450M PRO4 microATX motherboard: I'd prefer a microATX as it's smaller in size and less expensive. Again this mb seems to be reviewed quite well.
  • Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-3200 CL16 memory: Pretty basic and inexpensive. Motherboard above would allow me to upgrade memory to 64GB so I figure I'd start on the small end. No RGB lights needed for me :)
  • Samsung 970 Evo 1TB M.2-2280 NVME SSD: Really want an SSD and this has excellent reviews. It is a bit more expensive than other 1TB SSD drives though. Also figured I'd bump up from 500GB to 1TB as the increase in price is not that much.
  • MSI GEForce GTX 1660 6GB Ventus XS OC video card: Honestly, I have no idea how best to select a video card. I chose to not go with an integrated card in the CPU as I figure having a separate card would give me options in the future. The GTX 1660 seems to have pretty good reviews for a low end card. They're just so expensive!!
  • Fractal Design Define Mini C microATX tower case: Figured I would go with the microATX case since that's the size motherboard I selected.
  • EVGA G3 650W power supply: Again, not a great idea on the type of power supply I should get. All of the above results in just over 300W power usage. Reviews made it sound as if having a full modular power supply was ideal for layout purposes. Total build is just under $900. This is an ideal price point for me. Would love to keep it below $1000 if possible. The less the better!!

I'd love any and all thoughts. Any different parts you'd recommend and why?? This would be my first PC build and it's honestly quite exciting to consider. Thanks so much!!!

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
athomsfere profile image
Austin French

I personally dislike Asrock boards. They benchmark great (thus get great reviews) but they just don't seem to have the longevity of other brands.

DDR4 3200 should be perfect for your RAM.

1TB isn't what it used to be. You might consider either spending a little more and adding a 2TB HDD, or trading for a 500GB NVMe and a 2TB HDD.