DEV Community

Justin Stayton
Justin Stayton

Posted on

Show DEV: Free privacy-respecting analytics for your personal or indie project

Hey friends!

I just wanted to take a quick moment to show off a fun little side project I recently launched:

🏴‍☠️ piratepx

I call it just a little analytics insight for your personal or indie project. You can add it to your website, mobile app, server-side API, CLI, or just about anywhere else.

It's very simple on purpose, as my goal going in was to host it myself (so you don't have to) and make it 100% free. It's also completely open source for full transparency.

It probably won't put a huge dent in Google Analytics usage, or even replace other privacy-respecting analytics options out there for most people, but my hope is it'll be useful for you if you're just looking for something simple and free.

Let me know what you think!

P.S. I had fun trying a few new things with this project, including Fastify for the backend (instead of Express) and Vue.js v3 + Vite for the frontend. I hope to write up a full post on my experience with those, but I'm happy to answer any questions here as well!

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
cchana profile image
Charanjit Chana • Edited

Recently featured the website on SITEJOY: sitejoy.dev/website/view/piratepx

Well done on this project, there can never be enough privacy conscious analytics tools :)

Do you have more features planned or was this as far as you wanted to take it? I built my own analytics tool because all I wanted was page views but turns out there were a couple more things I wanted to know about. The most important one was referrers and it's on my list of things to try and figure out.