DEV Community

Cover image for Terminal-based Games!
Kaamkiya
Kaamkiya

Posted on • Updated on

Terminal-based Games!

The Repo

A collection of open-source games that use only the standard i/o!

The Challenge

A lot of people recommend learning making games to learn programming languages better. So that's exactly what I did. The only difference is that I did not use any graphics at all. I decided to only use text, and I found a lot of games that can be made like that.

The Games I Made

I didn't only make games, I made some other things like programs to find the factor of a number.

All the programs I made are below:

  • Dice rolling simulation
  • Factor finder
  • Fizz Buzz
  • Infinite Fizz Buzz
  • Number guessing game
  • Maze game
  • Prime digit finder
  • Snakes and ladders simulation
  • Tic Tac Toe
  • Anagram finder
  • Image printer
  • Collatz sequence simulator
  • Currency converter
  • Periodic table explorer
  • Reflex tester
  • Typing speed tester

About the games

All of the games that I made have a limit of 250 lines. This is so that I didn't get confused when trying to understand it the next day :)

This is a project I will be working on for a really long time, and I recommend to everyone learning a language to make some games and spend a while "testing" them :)

They are all heavily commented to be beginner friendly.

In making these games, I learned a lot about loops, libraries, modules, and other things involved in coding. I also learned and memorized quite a lot of ANSI escape sequences, because color.

Conclusion

I made a lot of games in this, and they taught me quite a bit. I highly recommend making a few games to learn a language better.

The languages I used were Python, C++, Ruby, and Java.

I also accept contributions, so head over to the repo and play or make an issue!

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
harveyhalwin profile image
Heinek Halwin

Wow. What a fun idea !