DEV Community

KartikJha
KartikJha

Posted on

Getting your hobby project of the ground

I have been a professional developer for nearly two years now but don't see much difference in my coding abilities.

Yes, I have become more fearless in facing a screen scribbled with errors and can work my way through it and have picked up some technologies along the way (React, Node, Java) and learned the way of the terminal :D

But something is still missing I don't have any open source contributions and my Github profile looks pretty boring. Several abandoned projects :( and this obviously affects my first impression on potential employers.

So, I have decided that I am going to finish my first hobby project which is a game built using canvas and typescript(the minimum viable product, as I am planning to add multiplayer action!).

And so far I have managed to set up the project from scratch and created the basic architecture. I am using Typescript, Webpack, and native canvas API to achieve the MVP along with Eslint and Prettier for smooth development experience.

The repo and corresponding GitHub project can be found at https://github.com/KartikJha/color-sticks.

I have set up the project without any boilerplate by scrounging the internet but will be happy to write a consolidated article you need it.

Thanks for reading this far. I will make sure that this hobby project gets delivered.

What are you working on or planning to work on? Let me know in the comments.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
dianacoman profile image
Diana Coman

Going at it alone is always harder than it has to be. Why not have a look at Eulora? It's a game with open source client that you are fully encouraged to change/adapt/make as you wish (bots included!) and plenty of things you can contribute to get started and learn.