DEV Community

Cover image for My VS Code settings for Web Development
Emanuele Bartolesi
Emanuele Bartolesi

Posted on • Updated on

My VS Code settings for Web Development

In the past, I used a lot of editors.
Now I use only Visual Studio Code, for everything.

I share my settings optimized for web development.

Theme

At the moment I am using the theme called: Noctis.
More specifically, I use the version Noctis Obscuro.

I like the good contrast and the colors of this theme.

Icons

I don't use the default icons for VS Code, but I installed VS Code Icons

There are many icon sets on the marketplace, but I like this package because I can recognize at first sight every kind of files in the solution.

Font

I am using Fira Code instead of the default font for Visual Studio Code.
I use this because it supports the font ligatures.
The font ligatures are a "new" format for fonts that support symbol decorations instead of normal characters like =>, <=.
You can see many examples in the image below.

After the installation, you have to change the default settings for the font.
This is my settings for fonts.

   "editor.fontFamily": "Fira Code",
   "editor.fontLigatures": true,
   "editor.fontSize": 15
~~~~
### The cursor
The first line makes your cursor blink more smooth with a fade-in/fade-out slow animation.
In the third line, I define the cursors style as a "line" because I don't like a "big" cursor when I type the code.
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode
"editor.cursorBlinking": "smooth",
"editor.cursorSmoothCaretAnimation": true,
"editor.cursorStyle": "line"
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

~~~~

Indent Guidelines visible

     "editor.renderIndentGuides": true
~~~~
### Unsaved Tabs
With the following settings, the unsaved files have a dot symbol before the file name and a line at the top of the tab.
You can see easily the unsaved files, better than before.
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode
 "workbench.editor.highlightModifiedTabs": true
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

~~~~

Autosave

Nothing to explain. Autosave files after a delay.
I use 5000 ms because I use very often a "live" server to debug my application and it prevents to recompile the project too many times.
I disabled the formatting function on saving because if you edit the file and it changes under your eyes, you lost some times to find the correct line number.

     "files.autoSave": "afterDelay",
     "files.autoSaveDelay": 5000,
     "editor.formatOnSave": false
~~~~
## Extensions
- [Visual Studio Intellicode](https://marketplace.visualstudio.com/items?itemName=VisualStudioExptTeam.vscodeintellicode)

The normal intellisense shows functions, methods or parameters in alphabetical orders.
With this extension, Microsoft has added some AI to the intellisense and the functions, methods, and parameters are shown with the most used order.
With this you more productive.

- [Indent Rainbow](https://marketplace.visualstudio.com/items?itemName=oderwat.indent-rainbow)

This extension adds several colors to every indent tab in the code.
It helps to navigate your code with your eyes.

![](https://raw.githubusercontent.com/oderwat/vscode-indent-rainbow/master/assets/example.png)

- [Import Cost](https://marketplace.visualstudio.com/items?itemName=wix.vscode-import-cost)

This extension will display inline in the editor the size of the imported package.

![](https://file-wkbcnlcvbn.now.sh/import-cost.gif)

## Conclusion
I use other extensions specific for every frontend technologies, but these extensions are technology independent.
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Top comments (22)

Collapse
 
fernandomaia profile image
Fernando Maia

This is an absolute gem for VS Code! The cursor tip was a very small tweak, but made a big difference for me. Regarding the guidelines, isn't it visible by default? I see no difference here when I enable it.

Collapse
 
kasuken profile image
Emanuele Bartolesi

I don't think the guidelines are visible by default.

Collapse
 
wobsoriano profile image
Robert

The import cost is what I've been looking for.

Collapse
 
k3ru profile image
Raquel Escalante

Same, when I saw that I was like "Now that's a cool extension :O"

Collapse
 
kasuken profile image
Emanuele Bartolesi

Wow!!!

Collapse
 
darkes profile image
Victor Darkes

Wow definitely a lot of cool ones here. I will definitely try the icons, import cost, Intellicode and autosave. The only thing I've done since downloading vscode is change the key mappings to make Intellij IDEA 😂

Collapse
 
craftyminer1971 profile image
CraftyMiner1971

I love dark themes! I find them easy on my blue eyes. I’ve also tried many different IDE’s in my travels since i started using computers at home. I even thought NetBeans was the best, but VS Code seems to be the most extendable. I’m an absolute novice when it comes to programming, but articles like this one are a big boon to people like me.

Collapse
 
ruslangonzalez profile image
Ruslan Gonzalez

Import cost definitely great extension!!! Thank you!

Collapse
 
hchev001 profile image
Hamilton Chevez

That Noctis theme collection is really dope!

Collapse
 
kasuken profile image
Emanuele Bartolesi

I agree with u 😊

Collapse
 
tomasphan profile image
Tomas Phan

Nice share. Thanks. Looking forward to adopt VS Code exclusively from now on.

Collapse
 
kasuken profile image
Emanuele Bartolesi

Great!!!

Collapse
 
arilength profile image
ari.length • Edited

Indent Rainbow is invaluable, once you use it you can't go back ^ Good article I didn't know intellicode, firacode and the cursor tips it is very interesting Thanks !

Collapse
 
kasuken profile image
Emanuele Bartolesi

Thank you for your comment 😊

Collapse
 
siddharthvarshney profile image
Siddharth

wow, you just made my day

Collapse
 
huangshan307 profile image
Huangshan Fan

Thank you for your share.

Collapse
 
kerpekri profile image
Kristaps Kerpe

Thanks for the suggestions, I think I will try out "Fira Code" font looks - extravaganza.

Collapse
 
kasuken profile image
Emanuele Bartolesi

Great choice 😊

Collapse
 
dana94 profile image
Dana Ottaviani

Indent Rainbow is cool, I always enjoy using it.

Collapse
 
sharkdevs profile image
Sharkdevs 🦈

I have added a few to my viscose, especially the import cost and the indent rainbow. Thanks

Collapse
 
kasuken profile image
Emanuele Bartolesi

I can't live without Indent Rainbow. 😁

Collapse
 
yoyooo profile image
yoyooo

so cool