DEV Community

Katie Liu
Katie Liu

Posted on • Updated on

Hacktoberfest Week 1 PR

hacktoberfest badge

I am very excited to be participating in my first Hacktoberfest!

I am a bit late to the party, but for my first Pull Request, I wanted to find something simple to get used to the process and to make sure my PR gets accepted.

Here are some methods I used to look for my first issue, if you find it helpful do use them as well!

TIP! When you find an issue you would like to work on, leave a comment immediately to ask the owner to assign you the issue. Then, if the issue is a simple one, do the fix and submit a PR linking it to the issue as soon as possible. I discovered that many times that although I commented first, that others would go ahead and submit PRs for that issue anyways.

After some exploration, I found the following issue which I believe to be a suitable first PR

[FIX]: Correct the links to sample files in README.md #3

After changing the file names in Samples/ folder the links in README.md file are now not in working condition and getting a 404 Error due to that. So, fix the links in README.md file.

image

Happy Hacking

The issue is a very straightforward README file fix. The owner has renamed four files, and thus the links to those four files under the "Server-Side File" section of the README stopped working. I did not have to do much setup to do this fix.

I commented under the issue that I would like to work on the issue. I forked the repo and then cloned the forked repo to my local. I created a branch and called it issue-3. I located the files inside the Samples folder and I updated the file names for those four files in the README.md. I then pushed my changes to my branch, and then manually went to my branch on GitHub to test that all four links now work. Lastly, I created a Pull Request, detailed my fix and my testing, and linked it to the issue.

I am very happy to have completed my first Pull Request, and I look forward to getting a review from the owner. I have already communicated with the owners of other repos and have gotten assigned to a couple of more difficult tasks, and I look forward to working on them in the coming days and weeks!

UPDATE: Unfortunately, even though I asked to be assigned to this issue first, someone submitted a PR a couple minutes before me, and so my PR was not merged.

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
pavelee profile image
Paweł Ciosek

Great job! Keep it up!

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt ☕

Good work! 🚀✨

Collapse
 
Sloan, the sloth mascot
Comment deleted
Collapse
 
katiel profile image
Katie Liu

No worries, I have got my 4 PRs already now :)