DEV Community

kcarrel
kcarrel

Posted on • Updated on

Resources for a New Programmer

Are you looking to dip into programming but you aren't sure where to start? While that opening line reads like the beginning to a bad infomercial the only thing I am trying to sell you on is checking out the resources below! I began my coding journey squeezing tutorials into my free time then attending a full-time software engineering intensive program for 15 weeks. Throughout my journey the below resources helped me navigate unfamiliar tech territory and I hope it will do the same for you.

If you are completely new to programming I would suggest reading Ali Spittel's Beginner's Guide as a primer.

Tutorials

Note: Be wary of tutorial purgatory. Taking your new skills to tackle a personal project (Build an api! Make a clone of a website!) is one of my favorite ways to learn. Failure/trial and error can be a great teacher!

Write Code

Github

Code Snippets

Hosting Platforms for Personal Projects

Women in Tech Networks

Podcasts

The below podcasts have helped me immensely with building confidence as a new programmer, learning about a variety of backgrounds/paths in tech and more!

Miscellaneous

I hope this list of resources is helpful for any CodeNewbies out there. Have you come across any other resources that you would suggest for fellow new programmers?

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
dietertroy profile image
Troy

I also like:

A hands-on approach always seems to work for me. Cheers!

Collapse
 
mollynem profile image
Molly Nemerever

So many great resources! My personal favorites are codecademy and most recently YouTube.