DEV Community

kealanheena
kealanheena

Posted on

Weekend Challenge - Bowling

So I've finished the first group project so that's why I'm only writing this now. We didn’t do the code review this week either so I had nothing to compare my code to this time. Anyway time to talk about the bowling challenge.

I found the bowling challenge quite difficult. We were warned that it was harder than it looked but I didn’t expect it to be that hard. Part of the reason it was so hard was because we had to write it in JavaScript. Getting the hang of prototypes is weird because they're similar to methods but just different enough to be awkward. I worked through most of it the user stories. The main problem was trying to integrate the strikes and spares, it didn't help that I didn't know the rules of bowling. But I couldn't figure it out. The JQuery wasn't too hard to figure because the documentation was very good.

I would like to try this with ruby. But I would need to find out how to add ruby to a js file. I'd also like to learn how to do DOM manipulation with only JavaScript. Overall it was a fun challenge.

Top comments (0)