DEV Community

kethmars
kethmars

Posted on

The pros and cons of being a developer

Hey people!

As developers, it's easy to praise our profession, because, for most of us, we get to do what we love - solve problems through coding.

That said, there can also be negative aspects.

How I see it:

Pros

  • Hobby and work in one
  • Get to work in a field that's praised
  • Get to use my brain
  • IT is part of every industry there is
  • A great community
  • There's always something new to be learned
  • Can use my professional skills for improving personal life
  • Salary's good

Cons

  • Keeping up with new tech can sometimes be overwhelming
  • Long hours behind the computer
  • There's always something new to be learned (I know, it's both good and bad imo)
  • One can easily burn out

So I'd like to ask you:

What do you believe are the pros and cons of being a developer?

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
booleanhunter profile image
Ashwin Hariharan

Here's a few that come to my mind:

Pros:

  1. Low barrier to entry if you're coming via the webdev route
  2. Can potentially work from anywhere you want
  3. No degrees required

Cons:

  1. Fierce competition, you'll have to do a lot to standout from the rest
  2. Interviews are becoming excessively tough
  3. Rarely ever 9-5 job, you most likely end up working throughout the day if you're in a startup
  4. Takes a while to get good salary, depending upon which country you're in.
  5. Highly stressful - leading to burnouts, eye-problems, social isolation, etc.
Collapse
 
delta456 profile image
Swastik Baranwal

The only con for me is that you cannot meet and spend time with your family and friends.

Collapse
 
jansoriano profile image
jansoriano

Get to use my brain

Collapse
 
polaroidkidd profile image
Daniel Einars

Pro: Work from home is awesome. I can spend so much time with my doggo.

Con: I'm late to the game and I'm afraid of ageism.

Apart from that, your list pretty much nails it for me.