DEV Community

Cover image for The Start of E.V.O T
Kevin Palma
Kevin Palma

Posted on • Updated on

The Start of E.V.O T

Hey everyone, hope all is well! I've officially started the journey now that I have all the necessary equipment to build the turret (might be missing a few things, but we'll go with the flow). I've begun creating the AutoCAD design for the base of the turret. This is just the prototype since it's my first time really freestyling this, so bear with me if it looks a bit weird.

I want to make a nice, sturdy base with some vents on the sides to let the components inside breathe. I want the turret to look like a railgun cannon, taking inspiration from the image below (Image 1) but with some tweaks. I have an idea for the base—here's a quick look at what I've got(image2). I want the Arduino to stay in this section of the turret, with the other bulkier equipment here. Once I have this part down, I'll start working on the actual movement of the turret.

Image description (Image1)

Image description
(Image2)

I'm still deciding what kind of motor to use. If you have any suggestions, that would be awesome, and I'm always happy to hear your ideas and talk more about it.

This is the main update I have for you. I'll try to keep you updated every 3-4 days with good progress each time. Just wanted to let you know I haven't abandoned this project and will see it through to the end. Thank you all for the support and have a great one!

Image description
Quick pic of my Guinea Pig Yoshi

Top comments (0)