DEV Community

Cover image for The technology stacks I use for software development (as a full-stack developer)
Kelvin Graddick
Kelvin Graddick

Posted on • Originally published at kg.codes

The technology stacks I use for software development (as a full-stack developer)

As a full-stack developer I enjoy building out a solution from top-to-bottom. Doing that involves learning and using various technologies at every layer of the stack.

The tech stacks I use

I like to take an agnostic approach to development; meaning that I’m not loyal to any particular programming language, framework, or tool. I try to assess fit, trades-off, and choose the best tools for the job among what I know. Sometimes that means learning something completely new when it makes sense.

I thought it’d be interesting to share the tech stacks for some of my projects:

Personal/portfolio website (www.kg.codes)

Personal/portfolio website (www.kg.codes)
· Google Cloud Platform (server/hosting)
· Windows Server (server OS)
· Microsoft IIS (server software)
· MySQL (database)
· PHP (web API)
· PHP (website)

‘Doctor search’ mobile app

‘Doctor search’ mobile app
· Google Cloud Platform (server/hosting)
· Windows Server (server OS)
· Microsoft IIS (server software)
· MySQL (database)
· Node.js / JavaScript (web API)
· React Native / JavaScript (mobile app)

‘Social media’ mobile app

‘Social media’ mobile app
· Amazon Web Services / AWS (server/hosting)
· Linux (server OS)
· Nginx (server software)
· PostgreSQL (database)
· .Net Core / C# (web API)
· Xamarin / C# (mobile app)

‘Small business search’ mobile app (‘Set Up Shopz’ on the App Store)

‘Small business search’ mobile app (‘Set Up Shopz’ on the App Store)
· Google Cloud Platform (server/hosting)
· Windows Server (server OS)
· Microsoft IIS (server software)
· MySQL (database)
· PHP (web API)
· Xamarin / C# (mobile app)

Alt Text

‘Appointment scheduling’ web app
· Amazon Web Services / AWS (server/hosting)
· Linux (server OS)
· Nginx (server software)
· Cassandra (database)
· Spring Boot / Java (web API)
· Vue.js / JavaScript (website/app)

Let me know if you have any questions about what/why I use a certain thing.
Right now my favorites to work with are AWS, Linux, Nginx, PostgreSQL, Node.js, and React Native. 🙌🏾
One knowledge gap I see I have is NoSQL databases; I have no experience there.

What stack/technologies are ya’ll using right now?

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
vishalkusaini profile image
VishalKuSaini

What things can we do after become full stack developer?