DEV Community

khushwanth kumar
khushwanth kumar

Posted on

guide to a student

_This is an anonymous post sent in by a member who does not want their name disclosed. Please be thoughtful with your responses.
Hi I am a new to programming and I am an undergraduate and I need to know what to learn first and I am quite in a situation of can't figuring out what and where to start can you please help me become a good programmer.

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
lmolivera profile image
Lucas Olivera

I don't know exactly what things interest you, but if you are looking for a place to start I suggest FreeCodeCamp. It starts from the very basics to very advanced themes in which you'll learn HTML5, CSS3, Javascript, ES6, multiple frameworks (JQuery, Bootstrap, React, Redux...), APIs, Node.js, Express, MongoDB and a few more things. It is very good because it has a growing community, it's free and at the end you have exercises to practice what you learn, soy you'll finish with a nice looking portfolio ;)

Collapse
 
terabytetiger profile image
Tyler V. (he/him) • Edited

I think @stel 's response is good, but can be a bit intimidating. Some solid posts I would recommend looking over are

  • @waqardm's post outlining beginner resources here

  • @aspittel's post (also highly recommend basically everything in their post history) here

Collapse
 
stel profile image
St3l

Yes, you are right! I should have specified it is a generic document that only help to have a global idea of what kind of path to choose :)

Collapse
 
stel profile image
St3l

Hi, this page might help you ;)
github.com/kamranahmedse/developer...