DEV Community

Cover image for Developer diary #13. Pomodoro life
Kiolk
Kiolk

Posted on

Developer diary #13. Pomodoro life

Today, I want to share how I organise my everyday work. I use technic pomodoro for this. I will not describe in details about it, you can easily google it. The key idea is that you split your work on small pieces (25 minutes of work + 5 min. break). A typical work day contains 16 pomodoro, but from my experience, you can fit slightly less: 15 or 14, it is not matter.

What key benefits does it bring to me?
First, It helps to split big terrible boring awful tasks on small funny easy peaces.
Also, It makes clear vision what I will do today and what I want to do today.
It is good training for task estimation, because every day you analyze if you spent more time that was planned.
It helps introduce some special (habit) pomodoros, which you do every day, and helps to do it regularly.
Very often it helps to continue work in days when you lose motivation.

I practice pomodoro technic more than two years and I feel that my working life stay is more organised. I will be glad to hear about your experience with this technic.

Top comments (0)