DEV Community

Cover image for What profession would you change to?
Feli (she/her)
Feli (she/her)

Posted on • Updated on

What profession would you change to?

It's one of those days...

My motivation is low and I'm thinking of changing my profession. I tent to make that joke: "this internet thingy will not succeed and than I'll become a carpenter".


But realistically I would become a Technical Recruting Consultant. The reason is simple. I gained a lot of knowledge in that area. Also I believe I can do something good with it. Fighting for diversity & inclusion. Instead of being a rolemodel. Advise companies on: how best to hire a hetrogenic mass of developers. And ensure that more equal opportunities are being created.


Do you know those days? What profession would you change to and why?

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
owlcowl profile image
Owlcowl (he/him)

I think I'd move completely away from the computer. Doing / creating something with my hands; carpenter does not sound too bad or a metal worker.
That said I'd guess once I've done that I'd start programming as a hobby because it still fascinates me. Developing software is always the best logic puzzle for me.

Collapse
 
mellen profile image
Matt Ellen

I started programming as a kid, so I never felt a pull in any other direction. Whenever I think about giving up my job, I just think about doing my own programming thing.

If I try really hard and imagine a universe where I didn't pick up the Amstrad CPC BASIC programming book, I think maybe I'd be an actor. I always enjoyed being on stage when I was younger. These days the idea scares me!

If it happened today that I couldn't be a professional programmer anymore, I think I'd like to learn how to teach programming. Or if I couldn't come within 20 metres of a compiler then maybe I'd try writing fiction, since I do that as a hobby anyway. Or maybe I'd be inspired to try to retrain into a different career altogether, like car mechanic or something useful like that.

Collapse
 
darrindivens profile image
darrindivens • Edited

Now I'm a freight forwarder. In my company, I have three colleagues doing the same thing. I'm considering the option of retraining for another profession to combine my forwarding practice at the same time. To help my company, I can go to accounting courses to learn how to conduct financial transactions. I can also become a freight broker, which will greatly facilitate my work. The average salary is $46,770 per year so this option will suit me. Also, nothing prevents me from going to both of these professions. However, I'd rather choose to be a broker because it's a little closer for me. After all, my experience in forwarding matters is over 10 years, so that brokerage will be an easy way for me.