DEV Community

Cover image for Covtact: Secure contact diary to slow down COVID-19 [DO-Hackathon]
C.B.W.
C.B.W.

Posted on

Covtact: Secure contact diary to slow down COVID-19 [DO-Hackathon]

Project recap

During the DigitalOcean Hackathon ๐Ÿ‘จโ€๐Ÿ’ป I want to build an app which allows you to log with whom you had contact. This is so you can inform people if need be and stop further COVID-19 spreading.

As mentioned there is already a working version, hosted on DigitalOceanโ€™s App platform, available: Covtact.

Softlaunch

I'm pretty happy with the current state featurewise. I'm planning to improve the UI further, and hoping to add some interaction animations. So, just in time for christmas ๐ŸŽ„ I decided to softlaunch the project.

That means I encourage everybody (yes, you to ๐Ÿ˜‰) to try Covtact and track with whom they met outside their closest ones.

Posting it here, on twitter and on hackernews, didn't yield that much of a response for now, but I saw some users in the analytics. (Yes, I turned on self hosted analytics, matomo, but no worries, that doesn't log any personal data nor the added contacts).

So please, if you want, I'd be very happy if you could share this project with others...

Feedback?

Again, try it out, log your contacts if you had any and help stop this pandemic. [Hint: It might become extra important during the holidays, please stay responsible in your actions]. ๐Ÿ™

And tell me what you think about this project down in the comments, or letโ€˜s connect on twitter!

Top comments (0)