DEV Community

Cover image for Covtact: New name and design [DO-Hackathon]
C.B.W.
C.B.W.

Posted on

Covtact: New name and design [DO-Hackathon]

Project recap

During the DigitalOcean Hackathon 👨‍💻 I want to build an app which allows you to log with whom you had contact. This is so you can inform people if need be and stop further COVID-19 spreading.

As mentioned in the last post there is already a working Proof of Concept, hosted on DigitalOcean’s App platform, available: Covtact.

Naming

I decided to go with the singular name: Covtact. in case you didn't notice, it's a word combination on Covid and Contact...

Also, to give this project a proper home, I purchased a brand new domain: covtact.app. Feel free to share this around, this is where it will stay. (In case you get an error, the DNS might take a little while).

I added the domain to DigitalOcean and am using their DNS nameservers. It took some minute to become active, and after some more time all my clients updated their entries as well. Well, that's how it is, I guess.

And, drumroll 🥁, I implemented the new UI I hinted at in the last post! Tell me if you like it, there are some things to improve for sure...

Feedback?

There’s still work to be done, but the app is already useable. Try it out, log your contacts if you had any and help stop this pandemic. [Hint: It might become extra important during the holidays, please stay responsible in your actions]. 🙏

As always, tell me what you think about this project down in the comments, or let‘s connect on twitter!

Top comments (0)