DEV Community

Cover image for Please forget the colon of python
Kavindu Santhusa
Kavindu Santhusa

Posted on • Updated on

Please forget the colon of python

Colon is an important character in Python. You should end some statements with colon.

Any modern IDE code editor adds that colon automatically. I had used old IDE Geany. That feature is not available in that IDE.

Python is a beginner friendly programming language thanks to the syntax sugar of python. But this colon can confuce very beginners.

Some people says that colon improves the readability. But I don't know. It looks same for me without the colon.

With colon

if 'Unv is awesome!':
    print('Hello World!')
# keep editing for live results
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Without colon

if 'Unv is awesome!'
    print('Hello World!')
# keep editing for live results
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

So I thought to create my own programming language. It is named Unv. You can play with the playground or read the docs to understand it.

Please give me a 🌟 on github you love this project.

GitHub logo UnvLabs / Unv

Syntax for Unv Programming Language

Unv

Syntax for Unv Programming Language

A programming language is a formal language comprising a set of strings that produce various kinds of machine code output. Programming languages are one kind of computer language, and are used in computer programming to implement algorithms. from Wikipedia

A programming language = a syntax Kavindu Santhusa(creator of Unv)

So I had defined the syntax. means I had created a programming language.

But without an implementation people can't use it. I had created my implementation with JavaScript, the most universal programming language. You can try it here on the playground.

if  5  >  2
    print("Five is greater than two!")  
if  5  >  2
    print("Five is greater than two!")
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Also I need your help to build this language. Please convert your thoughts to comments.

Follow me for more article about this language.

Thanks for reading 💞

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
saptakbhoumik profile image
SaptakBhoumik

Interesting. Wish you all the best