DEV Community

Cover image for How I want to increase my productivity⏱
Kurtiss Frost
Kurtiss Frost

Posted on

How I want to increase my productivity⏱

Nothing feels better than being able to mark things off of your to do list. This past week, I sadly haven't had the time or, on some days, felt like marking things off of mine.

I just want to take a minute to talk about what is on my to do list and how I want to go about tackling each bullet point.

(PROBLEM) Too many articles saved to my reading list:

I am really bad about scrolling through dev and medium on my lunch break and seeing a ton of amazing articles and thinking to myself" "OHH! That sure does sound interesting. I better add it to my reading list for later!" the only problem is, later has yet to come around. I have around 200+ articles save to my reading list on each site and I kind of want to narrow that down some.

(SOLUTION) Slowly chip away at them:

Not really much else to say than that. In the coming week, I want to try to knock that number down by around 50 on each site. (more if i'm feeling froggy). I am going to try my best to not add any more to my reading list until I knock it down some but, I have a feeling that is easier said than done. There are too many good articles on here and I can't read them all.


(PROBLEM) Begin work on my website:

I have procrastinated on this long enough. I have been saying for months now that I am going to start it. Well, it's about time that I did.

(SOLUTION) Just do it:

Much like the Nike slogan says, if I want to make progress, I am just going to have to dive in and start working on it. Much like the previous solution, that is easier said than done. I think my biggest hold up right now is that I am currently studying HTML and CSS and I want to have a better grasp on those before I set out to make my website but, I also don't want to use that as a crutch and never get around to making my website.

My compromise here is to try to work on small projects that are using the elements I am studying on and just try to add a little bit to the small projects as I go.

(PROBLEM) Pick back up on my studies:

Unfortunately the past week, I have been slacking on my studies. I have just not felt like coming home and working through my freecodecamp lessons or looking at anything coding/tech related.

(SOLUTION) Ease my way back into it:

I have a bad habit of hyper focusing on things which in turn seems to make me give up on them faster than I normally would if I didn't. So I am going to ease back into my studies so I don't get burnt out as fast.

(PROBLEM) Finishing setting up my coding environments:

Here before I got into "the funk" I was wanting to setup some coding spaces for me on my machines. I wanted to install Linux Mint (Cinnamon) on my Windows 10 machine using VMWare. I was also going to swap my laptop over from Ubuntu to Linux Mint so I could have a mirrored experience on both machines.

I want to set them up with a fresh install of VSCode, customized terminals, git, etc. so that I can have a nice coding environment that I'm not only comfortable using but that matches my current workflow and needs. Not to mention, I want to style it. If I'm going to be spending a lot of time in it, I might as well make it look as good as I can, right?

(Solution) Research:

I need to sit down and get myself a list of extensions and applications to get it setup the way I want it.

So yeah, that are my current problems and the solutions I would like to implement to solve them. Hopefully by this Friday (December 9th) I will have at least 2 of these knocked off of my list.

Thank you so much for reading and have a wonderful day/night!

signature

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
naucode profile image
Al - Naucode

Hey! Thank you for this, I liked it ;) keep writing, you got my follow!

Collapse
 
kurtissfrost profile image
Kurtiss Frost

Thank you so much for the like and follow. I'm glad you liked the article.

It's another one of my passions that I am trying to improve on. Not only does it give me writing practice, eventually when I start releasing things on GitHub, it could help me write better documentation.