DEV Community

Cover image for QWER : Simply Awesome Blog Starter built with SvelteKit and Love
AH WEI
AH WEI

Posted on • Updated on

QWER : Simply Awesome Blog Starter built with SvelteKit and Love

👋 Story

It's my belief that in order to be an awesome developer, writing ability is one of the keys. As a developer, writing helps me reinforce what I have learned. Also, it helps me better communicate with other people and reach more people. Thus, I started to write blogs not long ago to keep track of my journey as a developer.

At the beginning, I used blog starters developed by other people. I tried a few, but was not fully satisfied. A few months ago, I came across Svelte and SvelteKit. The simplicity and outstanding performance caught my eyes. I decided to learn them and use them to develop my own blog starter. The project took me about two months of my leisure time to get to where it is now.

Let's take a look at my project: QWER - ✒︎ Simply Awesome Blog Starter built with SvelteKit and ❤

🎉 QWER

Repo: https://github.com/kwchang0831/svelte-QWER
Demo: https://svelte-qwer.vercel.app/

🔍 Previews

QWER-Preview

QWER-Mobile-Preview

⚡ PageSpeed Insights

QWER-PageSpeed

✨ Features

  • Writing post with Markdown syntax.

  • Outstanding site performance. Near perfect PageSpeed score.

  • Mobile-First / Responsive design.

  • SEO friendly through meta, Open Graph, Schema, JSON-LD, microformats2.

  • Folder-based organization for creating posts.

  • On-site Search.

  • Post with tags and tag filtering feature.

  • Post with auto generated table of content.

  • Out-of-the-box support for Atom feed, Sitemap, PWA.

  • Automatic image optimization via vite-imagetools.

  • Support embedding Svelte components and Javascript with Markdown.

  • Supports Giscus - a comments system powerd by Github Discussions.

  • Utilizes UnoCSS - the instant on-demand atomic CSS engine.

  • i18n via typesafe-i18n.

  • Host the blog free on Vercel or Netlify.

🚧 Current Status

I am still actively developing QWER. I wrote lots of shitcodes 💩 in it. I am not ashamed to say it aloud. But, I promise you, I will keep learning and improving my skills along the way.

😊 Final Words

I would like some support from you guys, fellow awesome developers. If you like my project, please give me a star .

Any gentle feedback or suggestions would be greatly appricated.
Thank you all. ❤️

Top comments (0)