DEV Community

İrem Akyol
İrem Akyol

Posted on

Learning In Public

Hi Everyone,

I'm Irem and I'm student at Computer Engineering Depratment. I'm in 4th grade. I'm currently looking for a job as a junior software developer. I'm interested in Back-end development with Java Spring and C# and I'm currently learning Js.

I am someone who believes that marketing what you know is as important as knowing something. In contrast to this, I feel that I have been more introverted lately.

These days, I came across blog posts titled learning in public. I learned how people progressed in their careers by reading them. I tried to support them by giving likes and comments to them as much as possible.

I began to think that isolating myself was harmful to me. Now I want to share my learning processes. I made a plan for myself. In this plan I have:

  • Writing blog posts.

  • Writing essays about what I learned.

  • Meeting with people who are more knowledgeable and experienced than me.

  • Join communities and be an active user.

  • Creating and sharing cheatsheets

Fatih Terim, one of my favorite coaches, has a saying. That saying is

Don't be afraid to lose! To gain something, you have to lose some things, and remember, you are defeated not when you lose, but when you give up!

Inspired by him, I want to not give up and always go forward. I am sharing this post without reviewing it because it was time to take a step. Thank you so much for reading and supporting me.

Top comments (0)