DEV Community

Cover image for First-week check-in for PSF, GSoC 2021
Leonardo Cumplido
Leonardo Cumplido

Posted on

First-week check-in for PSF, GSoC 2021

Hi! I'm Leo, and I'm glad to share that I was accepted into Google Summer of Code (GSoC) 2021,

a global program focused on bringing more student developers into open source software development.

On May 17th I received the great news: Python Argentina, the organization I applied to, under the umbrella of Python Software Foundation (PSF), accepted me to contribute to their project titled PyZombis. Since then, all accepted students entered the community bonding period. For three weeks, I've been in touch with my mentors and with two other students. We have discussed the techniques of how we'll be working this GSoC, and most importantly, we have separated our initial proposals into milestones and issues in GitHub.

PyZombis is intended to be a MOOC to teach Python to Spanish speakers. Here is an overview of my proposal.

What did I do this week?

So far, I've done solid progress. As I stated already, I got to know my working team and discussed everything around the project. Also, as I'm new to GitHub, I had to learn its basics. I learned about PEP8, the Style Guide for Python Code, and about a tool that checks whether my code follows those rules, named flake8. I learned about Playwright as well, a tool to automate tests for web apps. Now, I feel ready to start the coding period.

What is coming up next?

Today, June 7th, the coding period starts. I'll be working for 2 months on this open source software project. These first two weeks, I'll focus on completing my first milestone: fixing existing code, adding python quizzes with unit test and adding minimal Playwright tests.

Did I get stuck anywhere?

Indeed. My second milestone involves using Brython and the Twitter API. My mentor recomended trying to combine both by integrating twitter-scraper library in Brython. Unfortunately, everything I have tried so far hasn't worked.

Top comments (0)