DEV Community

Leonardo Cumplido
Leonardo Cumplido

Posted on • Updated on

Second-week blog post for PSF, GSoC 2021

Hi everyone! This is my second post for Google Summer of Code (GSoC) 2021. The coding period has started and so far my experience has been most enjoyable. As I stated in my first post, this week I began working on my first milestone, and I can say I've done wonderfully.

What am I working on?

This week, a fellow collaborator (Ybrahin) and I worked on fixing the existing python quizzes of the project Python para Zombis. We divided the number of quizzes each one would fix; I get to fix 7. From those, I've completed 5. So far, I've done 5 PR's, 4 of which have been merged into the master branch, and 1 awaiting review. Completing a quiz fix also involves making a web test with pytest-playwright for an exercise in that quiz. Moreover, this weekend I did some research about Runestone supporting SQL language. This is relevant to us because there is a lesson in the project that is currently in standby due to the sqlite3 python module used in there. To be clear, Runestone doesn't support that module, and that's why this lesson isn't working.

Do you remember I talked about flake8 in my first post? Well, Ybrahin introduced me to another tool to automate code formatting, named Black.

Black is the uncompromising Python code formatter.
Black makes code review faster by producing the smallest diffs possible.

What have I struggled with this week?

I had no bigger problems than trouble understanding git commands. I am still getting used to working with GitHub, and sometimes I don't know the exact sintax, nor the correct time to execute them. Regarding python, I haven't struggled.

What solutions have I found?

If any doubts come to me while programming I tend to do one of two things:

  • Ask my workmates and mentors.
  • Try to find an answer from Google.

Get tunned for the next post.

Top comments (0)