DEV Community

LeoJ
LeoJ

Posted on

The Birth of Rico - A Journey from Job Seeker to Solution Creator

Sometimes, the brightest solutions emerge from sheer necessity. My journey with Rico began during a pivotal phase in my career, and it's a story I'm excited to share.

In Pursuit of Opportunities:
It all started during my time at BeCode, a period every aspiring developer is intimately familiar with - the job hunt. The last two months of my training were dedicated to a relentless search for internships or job offers, but success remained elusive. I revamped my CV and decided to create a basic version of Rico. The goal? To scrape job listings and filter them based on companies offering internships. Little did I know that this small experiment would later become my key to unlocking countless opportunities.

The Genesis of Rico:
As I fine-tuned my makeshift tool, something unexpected happened. I began discovering numerous job listings that piqued my interest. There was a catch, though - the volume was overwhelming. Sorting through them was a daunting task. To address this problem, I introduced an email automation feature that streamlined my application process. Before I knew it, I found myself going through interviews, more interviews than I'd ever imagined.

4 Interviews for 1 week were a lot for me as a junior.

4 Interviews for 1 week were a lot for me as a junior.

The Turning Point:
With my internship secured, I temporarily put Rico aside, having achieved my immediate goal. But at the end of my internship, I was faced with the next challenge: finding a job. Job hunting for junior developers can be a formidable task, and this is where the idea for Rico as we know it today was conceived.

Rico's Mission:
Rico's vision is to empower job seekers by providing a streamlined, efficient, and automated solution. It aims to eliminate the hassles of job searching, save time, and open the doors to opportunities that would otherwise remain hidden.

My journey reflects the resilience and creativity every job seeker must muster in a competitive job market. Rico was my response to a problem that many of you have likely encountered. If you're looking for opportunities in the tech industry, Rico is here to simplify your journey and help you reach your goals. Join the waitlist and unlock the power of Rico!

Top comments (0)