DEV Community

Cover image for I became a Fullstack Developer πŸ’»β˜•οΈ in 24 HOURS and got a JOB πŸš€
Leugim
Leugim

Posted on • Updated on

I became a Fullstack Developer πŸ’»β˜•οΈ in 24 HOURS and got a JOB πŸš€

We only use a small percentage of our brain power. However, technology is growing every second and you can use it to unleash all your learning capacity. I used these techniques to learn faster and I was able to master web development, frontend and backend, in 24 hours with no previous experience.


Well, talk about clickbait.

First of all, I want to apologize, because the tags and the title are a lie. The first paragraph too, that's only for the post preview.

Thanks to Lukas for the cover image.

What is the purpose of this post? πŸ€”

This is a little experiment, a little travesura. This is not my real account, this is not a real post.

Every few months I read someone in DEV talking about the low quality content and giving tutorials on how to launch your blog. I don't like to follow the implicit rules of social media content to manipulate the attention of the readers/watchers and trick the algorithm in my favor (which I'm not even trying, as I don't know SEO). But I wanted to see how far I can take a post only with a clickbaity title and some trending tags.

With this post I just want to see how popular can become a post with zero value content.

Why?

Curiosity. In my main account (some of you may guess it) I get very little attention to the posts about the topics I like. But just once I wrote an article on javascript and in hours it became the most popular post I've written. So I started to wonder how easy could it be.

However I'm making it in a separate account.

Hi moderators and curators πŸ˜…

I apologize once more, I know moderating this community is not easy and this is not the best way to help. Feel free to mark this post as low quality, but if you feel curious about how far can this get, at least let it be (I won't ask you to mark it as high quality).

Feedback is appreciated πŸͺΆ

I'm sorry if you feel tricked. I'm happy if you feel surprised. I hope you found this somewhat funny. I hope you also feel curious about this.

I wrote this in a few minutes. I wonder how many views and reactions can it get. If this doesn't die two hours after being posted (that wouldn't surprise me either) I'll be updating this post with the number of views πŸ‘€.

  • Number of views 25/02/22: 0
  • Number of views 26/02/22: 445
  • Number of views 28/02/22: 548
  • Number of views 03/03/22: 576

Note: It didn't get that much views, but definitely much more that my average viewcount. Not surprising nor disappointing.

And they say you have to ask for engagement, so:

Don't forget to tell me your thoughts in the comments, react with a heart πŸ’“ unicorn πŸ¦„ and bookmark πŸ”– and share this on your social media πŸ˜‰

Top comments (12)

Collapse
 
curiousdev profile image
CuriousDev

Interestingly the reason for clicking was to write something like "please stop writing articles like this".
I also agree, that the kind of content (it does not need to be a title like you have chosen), can influence how much attention you get. But I suggest to prefer writing about what you want to write and being satisified with every reaction you get. It is not always about attention, but also creating the content itself. Thank you for surprising!

Collapse
 
leugim profile image
Leugim

I'm glad I achieved to surprise someone. Of course I will write about my interests and won't bother myself about the attention I get, but this is something I wanted to try once. Have a nice day!

Collapse
 
grahamthedev profile image
GrahamTheDev • Edited

There is a down side to your experiment, you told us what game you are playing and so you have tainted your results (I am far more likely to upvote and comment on your article given that I know what you are doing so your feed position will increase!)

I hope you continue the experiment but with low effort posts that don’t explain what you are doing so it is a more fair study, as it would be really interesting to see, I am actually thinking of doing the same after my article yesterday so it would be good to compare notes!

I can’t quite guess your main account but I have no doubt we interact a lot as this is something I am vocal about 🀣

Collapse
 
leugim profile image
Leugim

My intention is not to start making low effort posts. This is a unique piece for me. And the paradox you talk about the engagement generated with this experiment is something I knew that would happen; I just thought that supporting this post would mean understanding what I'm trying to communicate and enjoying a small subversion about it.
It was your post, indeed, that pushed me to do this ;)

Collapse
 
grahamthedev profile image
GrahamTheDev • Edited

Sorry I misread this so doubled down on defending my position instead of seeing what you meant.

I hope the poking fun at my post helps people see past the points I failed to communicate well and doesn’t think spamming the feed with low effort crap is a good idea. It wasn’t the intention at all!

Don’t underestimate the value of this post though, people need to prod, dissect, satirise and examine / rebuff stuff they don’t agree with or they think is misleading! ❀️

Also length does not always equate to value, I found great value in this to make me realise my message was poor and easily misinterpreted, that many people do care enough about quality content that they would respond with a rebuttal and that clickbait can, in rare circumstances, still turn out to be a surprising article that has some value.

Whoever you are mystery person, keep pushing for better content, even if it doesn’t seem like it I am in your corner on this! ❀️

 
leugim profile image
Leugim

I also love the chance that DEV gives to beginners. But I don't think that passion is what drives people to produce low quality, repetitive, shallow - in short: bad - content like a bot just to get views and reactions.
I wish more people started writing more for themselves (to improve), but less and better for others.
Thanks for your comments, folks ;)

Collapse
 
curiousdev profile image
CuriousDev

This is what I kinda like about Dev.to. But I dislike articles only referencing another Website or advertising a product without any effort of writing something useful here.

Collapse
 
damjand profile image
Damjan Dimitrov

I only opened the article to make sure everyone who clicked the title because they believed it or found it trustworthy reevaluates their naivety.

Collapse
 
leugim profile image
Leugim

Each of you who are outraged by the title make me very happy. That's the same outrage I feel with a lot of the clickbait strategies common on the media. Thanks for your comment!

Collapse
 
leugim profile image
Leugim

Also I should put some comment. Hello!

Collapse
 
branhillsdesign profile image
Brandon Hills

Am cat.
Curious.
Clicked.
☠

Collapse
 
leugim profile image
Leugim • Edited

Until you clicked you were 50% alive.

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.