DEV Community

Cover image for Unreasonable Requirements for Audio Producer Jobs (Yes, Even At Tech Companies)
Levi Sharpe
Levi Sharpe

Posted on

Unreasonable Requirements for Audio Producer Jobs (Yes, Even At Tech Companies)

Hi all,

Is it just me, or is the proliferation of job postings requiring audio producers to also be video producers a bit disappointing to say the least?

I remember a little less than a decade ago when people in the industry were upset when so many jobs started requiring audio producers to also be audio editors or "preditors." And throughout my career I have now become proficient in most aspects of audio production (producing, scriptwriting, audio editing, sound design, and mixing) to keep up with the "needs" of the industry.

I didn't necessarily agree with the direction the audio industry went, requiring all of us to become audio Swiss Army Knives to make a decent living. But, I am at least happy to now have a well rounded skill set in the medium of audio.

However, I find these new job postings requiring audio producers (now all required to be 'preditors,' mind you) to also be skilled in the whole other medium of video to be excessive.

I also got my graduate degree from the Craig Newmark Graduate School of Journalism, a multimedia program which teaches each of its students the fundamentals of audio, video, print, and photo; so, I am well capable of doing both audio and video producing.

But, having an employee capable of producing in multiple mediums should be a bonus (a well compensated one), not a requirement.

It wasn't so long ago when audio producers weren't required to be an army of one, and if a podcast had a video component, that was handled by separate video producers. We don't have to live in this new exploitative future where the audio industry is headed. Companies will constantly demand more and more, making you do the job of multiple people to cut costs. The least we can do is collectively try and push back against them trying to force us do the jobs of multiple people now in different mediums.

Remember, just because something is doesn't mean it ought to be.

If you are at a company doing this, please stand up for your fellow future employees. If you see something, say something.

I am interested in hearing your thoughts.

All the best,
Levi

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
roguesyntax profile image
Gavriel Popper-Keizer

I have to assume these people are ok with the jack of all trades level of expertise they can expect from a greatly diminished pool of applicants? Or they are perhaps just that delusional. There are people who exist who can do it all in a less highly specialized fashion, I was one of them a very long time ago. They are generally entrepreneurial people ( I really wanted to make my own music videos / films etc so I taught myself how, along with doing the website and the merch ). I can see how "its just a podcast etc. , I just need someone to do the A/V". They're going to have to hope the A/V is acceptable, and assume that its going to be less than stellar!

Collapse
 
levisharpe profile image
Levi Sharpe

100%! Thank you for sharing!!