DEV Community

Cover image for What was your last dev related Google Search?
Lewis Menelaws
Lewis Menelaws

Posted on

What was your last dev related Google Search?

Ah, Google... Imagine a world of being a developer without you. Google and Stack Overflow are like my mom and dad helping me through my silly mistakes as a developer.

I'm not new either. I have been a developer for almost over 5 years now... and I am not afraid to admit that some of my Google searches would look silly.

I know, I am a horrible developer that has no idea what he is doing.

Wrong.

As a developer of 1 year to 20 years of experience. Getting a quick reference to something is arguably what our job is all about.

Devs, what was your last dev related Google Search?

Top comments (33)

Collapse
 
heyanctil_pui profile image
Jonathan Anctil

«sql server pass an array to stored procedure»

Collapse
 
jdmedlock profile image
Jim Medlock

Start PostgreSQL command line

Collapse
 
lewismenelaws profile image
Lewis Menelaws

guilty

Collapse
 
lewismenelaws profile image
Lewis Menelaws

duckduckgo is still valid to this question :).

I am always looking up how to center things in CSS

Collapse
 
thesdev profile image
Samir Saeedi

ORM good or bad

Collapse
 
biros profile image
Boris Jamot ✊ /

Bad.

Collapse
 
jsrn profile image
James

"on duplicate index update"

This is something I learned about far too recently, considering how long I've been using MySQL. It turns out that when doing a bulk insert, you can have MySQL automatically update records on a key/index conflict. That way your bulk insert won't fail on duplicate records and you can insert/update in bulk in a single query.

Very cool!

dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/8.0/en/in...

Collapse
 
jacobherrington profile image
Jacob Herrington (he/him) • Edited

Obligatory duckduckgo plug!

ruby enumerable docs

Collapse
 
sauloco profile image
Saulo Vargas

I see up there duckduckgo.com is valid too, then: "Three.js group add"
not ashamed about it btw

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

"Integrity check failed for yarn"

Collapse
 
lewismenelaws profile image
Lewis Menelaws

Dependency issues 😅😅😅 I feel ya

Collapse
 
jel111 profile image
dumdumdev

Php loop

Collapse
 
yogeswaran79 profile image
Yogeswaran

I use Stackoverflow when I encountered something I can't solve. But google never use that before for solving specific problems

Collapse
 
stevenconner profile image
Steven Conner

searched for "npm prune" :p

Collapse
 
lewismenelaws profile image
Lewis Menelaws

Never knew about this command... but it's super useful.

 
rozhok profile image
Włodzimierz Rożkow

Haha, nice point! Anyways, I've switched to DuckDuckGo a month ago and didn't regret about it.

Collapse
 
ryuuji159 profile image
Daniel Cortés

Differents wordings for "jformattedtexfield getvalue returning integer or long"
if someone can help here i would be pretty happy <3

Collapse
 
sauloco profile image
Saulo Vargas

I've tried the same search in duckduckgo.com and this is my first result: community.oracle.com/thread/1362374

Kind of "I'm going to be lucky" 😂

Collapse
 
ryuuji159 profile image
Daniel Cortés

As always, searching stuff at 3am doesn't go well for me

Collapse
 
moopet profile image
Ben Sinclair

"php strpos". I should really post-it the order of haystack and needle to my screen. Same with, oh, you know, every other PHP function I have to use.

Collapse
 
programazing profile image
Christopher C. Johnson

Best way to check multiple Boolean conditions in C#.