DEV Community

Liyas Thomas
Liyas Thomas

Posted on • Updated on

There's more to life than work/school/career 🌺🌺

Hi there 👋

I thought about it quite a lot over the past few months, it took me a while to get ready, but after 6 months of graduation, I have finally decided to live my life at my own terms. This is a bold move for me - someone who was at an edge of depression and had existential crisis couple of years back.

This is a big ol' list of things / decisions / events happened to me in from 2019 - 2020:

  • Graduated from college 🎓
  • Joined in Zartek Technologies under Kerala Startup Mission
  • Made 👽 Postwoman
  • Turned 24 🌼
  • Joined ☕ Buy me a coffee
  • Traveling 🌇 became my favorite thing
  • Stopped 🛑 using Facebook and Instagram
  • I spend more time drawing ✏️ and playing guitar 🎸
  • Had my first 📢 Tech talk at Technopark - India's largest IT zone
  • Participated in Hacktoberfest 🐙
  • 1,000+ followers on 💙 Twitter
  • 11,400+ followers on Dev 👨‍💻👩‍💻
  • Made a Bucket list 🔥
  • Adele, Taylor swift, Eminem and Post Malone became my favorite artists 🎶
  • Listened lot of music 🎵
  • Became an ⚛️ Atheist
  • Read around ~50 books 📚
  • Read more on Philosophy, money, finance and life 📖
  • Postwoman won Tyk.io Side Project Fund
  • Started my next project 🚀
  • I got an offer for a Senior react developer post in Berlin in which I failed miserably ✨
  • Postwoman rebranded to Hoppscotch 🎯
  • Paid off educational loan - became debt free
  • Got interviewed for Facebook Solutions Engineer role in which the recruiter never replied after first round 😅
  • Joined 📊 Sensibull
  • My mom googled my name and called crying to tell me how proud she was of me because of all the wonderful things she found - I've officially made it ❤
  • Relived from day job to start working on side hustles 💯
  • Won Contributor of the Year - TESTING and Contributor of the Year - FUNDRAISING Hacker Noon - Noonies 2020 awards 🏆
  • Project ebb won FOSS India Hackathon ☘️
  • Participated in dozens of podcasts and blogs
  • Participated in 🐙 GitHub Open Source Friday
  • Hopscotch got featured in GitHub's Made in India Collection 🇮🇳
  • Started contributing to appwrite on part-time
  • Building a crib 🏡
  • Building Kooli 💵
  • Won 2 hackathons organized by Hashnode
  • Spoke at GitHub satellite
  • Hoppscotch crossed over 180k+ users and 28,000 GitHub stars
  • Project Lvr won Tyk Side Project Fund - I won Tyk Side Project Fund 2nd time in a row. First one was for Hoppscotch - the initial investment.
  • Hoppscotch now has 500k+ users and 34,000 GitHub stars
  • Raised $3m seed round for Hoppscotch
  • Interviewed at GitHub README project

I don't want to spend the rest of my 20's consumed trying to reach a level of success other people defined. I want to travel, form great bonds, go to meditation retreats, ride on hot air balloons, go to raves, etc. To me life should be full of adventures.

If you want to succeed in your life, remember this phrase. The past does not equal the future. Because you failed yesterday; or all day today, or a moment ago, or for the last six months; the last 16 years, or the last fifty years of life doesn’t mean anything… all that matters is what are you going to do, right now.

I'll be updating this list as I recall them.

So that basically means I'll be less active on dev.to and other platforms including OSS, but will be having a lot of time with my loved ones and open source community.

If you want a heads up on my next projects, or just want to chat about the web, life and happiness make sure to follow me @liyasthomas on Twitter 💙.

Top comments (36)

Collapse
 
mustafaanaskh99 profile image
Mustafa Anas

You never fail to impress <3

Collapse
 
liyasthomas profile image
Liyas Thomas

I'm realising that life is all about pursuing happiness. May you have a happy life 🌈

Collapse
 
mustafaanaskh99 profile image
Mustafa Anas

Very true.
Thanks budd

Collapse
 
atulcodex profile image
🚩 Atul Prajapati 🇮🇳

Exactly 🤘

Collapse
 
paulocastellano profile image
Paulo Castellano

Inspirational post 🎉

Collapse
 
dzhavat profile image
Dzhavat Ushev

You've achieved quite a lot during 2019. Sounds like you've found what makes you happy. May 2020 be even better for you!

I've also been thinking about the fact that we're more than just developers. Wrote a post about it a few months ago. :)

Collapse
 
liyasthomas profile image
Liyas Thomas

Your article is gold ✨

Collapse
 
m3yevn profile image
Kevin Moe Myint Myat 👨‍💻

Hey Liyas, you literally inspired me even though I guess you are younger than me just from reading your article that you turned 23 last year. but hey, I respected that you are great in what you're doing. even in my office, I'm promoting postwoman.io for testing APIs , well done my friend. Keep up the good work!

Collapse
 
liyasthomas profile image
Liyas Thomas

Thank you for your encouragement 💚

This really means a lot to me. The Postwoman project's success is shared with our team 🎉

May you have a happy life.

Collapse
 
sirawit profile image
Dragodzs

wow I respect you for stopping Facebook and Instagram

Collapse
 
liyasthomas profile image
Liyas Thomas • Edited

Well, here's a funny thing.

Got interviewed for Facebook Solutions Engineer role in which the recruiter never replied after first round 😅

He might've read this post in between the phone screening and second round 🤣

Collapse
 
sirawit profile image
Dragodzs

haaaaa

Collapse
 
triptych profile image
Andrew Wooldridge

Work life balance is so important. If you are miserable then coding and tech work can be life draining. Finding a balance is essential. I hope you find a way to do the things you want and also feel successful at your chosen career.

Collapse
 
liyasthomas profile image
Liyas Thomas • Edited

Thank you sir.

I'm a very non-creative junior developer at a YC company (BuyMeACoffee.com)

Collapse
 
devlorenzo profile image
DevLorenzo

You have 11,300 followers here at dev?

Collapse
 
liyasthomas profile image
Liyas Thomas

11,400 to be exact.

Collapse
 
devlorenzo profile image
DevLorenzo

And your last articles received only 90 / 50 / 20 reactions?

Thread Thread
 
liyasthomas profile image
Liyas Thomas

Yes

Collapse
 
devlorenzo profile image
DevLorenzo

With 20 post?

Thread Thread
 
liyasthomas profile image
Liyas Thomas

Yes

Collapse
 
carlosds profile image
Karel De Smet

Congrats man, this is a very impressive list! You really got it going and we hope you will find whatever you're looking for.

Collapse
 
liyasthomas profile image
Liyas Thomas

Thanks, I wish you a happy life.

Collapse
 
ridhikgovind profile image
Ridhik Govind • Edited

You'll always be in the list of top 5 people who have inspired me !
And I've learnt a lot of best practises from your code on GitHub. :)

Collapse
 
liyasthomas profile image
Liyas Thomas

Thanks. I'm glad you are making use of some of my project.

Collapse
 
rifaimartin profile image
Rifai Martin

why Stopped 🛑 using Facebook and Instagram?

Collapse
 
liyasthomas profile image
Liyas Thomas • Edited

I find using Facebook very time consuming.

imo, everyone should try disabling social sites for at least one month and see how beneficial it is.

Collapse
 
paulonbc profile image
Paulo Carvalho

Preach! Peace of mind and happiness first 😊

Collapse
 
mathcodes profile image
Jonathan P Christie

❤️ 🧠 🙏

Collapse
 
jcstr profile image
Jesús Castro

worth reading, thanks for sharing

Collapse
 
liyasthomas profile image
Liyas Thomas

Thank you 😀

Collapse
 
dana94 profile image
Dana Ottaviani

Good read. 👍

Collapse
 
liyasthomas profile image
Liyas Thomas

Wish you a happy life ❤️

Collapse
 
dantehemerson profile image
Dante Calderón

Great post, thanks for the motivation.✌

Collapse
 
liyasthomas profile image
Liyas Thomas

May you have the best year ahead ✨

Some comments have been hidden by the post's author - find out more