DEV Community

Lindsey Kopacz
Lindsey Kopacz

Posted on

Announcement: a11y for JavaScript Devs Course coming!

Hey all,

When I read Rian Rietveld's announcement about resigning from the WordPress a11y team, it really got me thinking. The pain point seemed to be a lack of overlap between React/JS developers and accessibility experts. This is a pain point that I've been well aware of for years, as many JavaScript developers get resistant to me pointing out accessibility errors. I've never understood this resistance, but I am going to assume that people are more intimidated and/or overwhelmed by fixing the errors and they would feel empowered with some solid foundational knowledge.

I started asking in the DCTech Slack about my thoughts on creating a course on accessibility for JavaScript developers. I asked if they would be willing to buy it if I created a course. The response I got was overwhelmingly positive-everyone said some form of yes.

Then I took it to Twitter:

At the time of this writing, the results are 87% yes. To be frank, I was always planning on creating this course, just not this soon. But the demand is apparent, so I am changing my plans a bit.

I would LOVE your feedback on any specific pain points you hear about accessibility and JavaScript. Please comment below!

Also, if you're interested in this, I am creating a list of emails JUST for updates pertaining to this course. Please subscribe if you want to take this course, and I will be giving my subscribers a discount on it when it comes out.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
jerodsanto profile image
Jerod Santo

Great idea, Lindsey! 💚

We recently dedicated an episode of JS Party to this very topic. I'd love for you to give it a listen and let me know what you think. Perhaps we can have you on the show sometime soon to further the discussion? 🤞

Collapse
 
lkopacz profile image
Lindsey Kopacz

That is awesome! I will take a listen and let you know what I think!