DEV Community

Cover image for What did you learn this week?
Mandy B
Mandy B

Posted on

What did you learn this week?

Fundamentals of JavaScript

This week and a little of last week, I began learning JS. Starting with variables, how they are little boxes or buckets that store items to memory. The 100 ways (it seems that is) to write a function. Some things need () and some do not. Still working on loops though.

The biggest takeaway so far for me is JS is a human language. So we have to be really specific when we want to use it to tell a computer what to do. I didn't understand the syntax or logic right off the bat. That is frustrating but I'm not supposed too. It's new, I'm new to this. But everyday I delete and rewrite my little exercises until it makes sense. Those little A-HA moments are so precious right now. I wake up excited to get back to my computer to code. That feeling might not last forever but I sure hope it sticks around for a long, long time.

What day am I on since I started this learning to code journey?

Well my Habit Tracker tells me I've been at this for 100 days! I'll take that. Can't stop, won't stop now! If only I could workout that consistently we'd be getting somewhere. I'll add working out to my Habit Tracker.

If you're just getting into this like me, don't stop. Watch a few YouTube videos if you need an extra push. Check out Code Newbie's podcast. They've got some really good ones in there about people just like us who made it.

Top comments (6)

Collapse
 
scottnimos profile image
Scott Nimos

Awesome work Mandy!
Keep it up. It's a long journey and there is always new things to learn.
For me I always learnt more by doing. Cause often thats where you fail, and failure is good :)

Collapse
 
lostoneway profile image
Mandy B

Yes! I'm experiencing that right now with my little portfolio. All I want are my font awesome icons to look well... awesome :) Thanks for the encouragement!

Collapse
 
jwp profile image
John Peters

Won't Stop are beautiful words.

Collapse
 
lostoneway profile image
Mandy B

Gotta find a way to sneak that into my projects.. maybe as a commented line of code haha ;)

Collapse
 
ajeir profile image
Ajeir Cunningham

Just some basic html and css. I also plan to do a deep dive into JS this week too.

Collapse
 
lostoneway profile image
Mandy B

getsomeajeir!