DEV Community

Cover image for Living with Imposter Syndrome
Lou Willoughby
Lou Willoughby

Posted on

Living with Imposter Syndrome

Imposter syndrome, that annoying devil on your shoulder telling you you’re a fraud 🙊

I unfortunately am too familiar with this devil on my shoulder. Whenever I can’t figure out a piece of code, ask for help, get a compliment or have a personal one 2 one. Under the belief I actually have no idea what I’m doing, how am I even here? Does everyone else think I’m useless too?

Being a self taught developer it can be daunting working with some incredible people and developers, people with uni qualifications, YEARS of experience, people who are just incredible at what they do. Sometimes this truly inspires me, sometimes this makes me feel more of a fraud. Constantly feeling like I have to prove myself and what I’m capable of.

There’s a few things I do that help me with this and I would recommend too if you also have this little devil on your shoulder.
⭐️ If I get an email or message saying something positive about myself or a piece of work I’ve done, I save it, screenshot it and have it on my computer for any moment I’m feeling down.
⭐️ I ask my boss for feedback on my work and how I can improve.
⭐️ I try not to compare myself to my colleagues but ask them for advice or help if I need.
⭐️ I try to look at my future and where I want to be and set goals of how I’m going to get there, accepting I’m not there now but I will be.

The little devil may never go away but he doesn’t have to be as scary as he seems. Have faith in what you do, believe in yourself, enjoy the good days.

Top comments (12)

Collapse
 
leob profile image
leob

Seriously, why are people making such a big deal about the whole imposter thing? Assuming that you're sincere and not a fraud, then why would you have to think that you are one? Trust me, other people aren't gonna look at you and think "oh she's a fraud" ... could be me but I don't see the point, just give it a rest.

Collapse
 
louiseann93 profile image
Lou Willoughby

Hi Leob, thank you for your comment 🙂 I understand not everyone will experience or understand imposter syndrome. It is a form of anxiety and so not everyone may experience it which is absolutely fine.
I think it’s important to talk about personal experiences especially around mental health for others who have felt this way too.
There’s a great podcast by Wes Bos that also discuss this if you ever want to look into it to understand it more 🙂

Collapse
 
leob profile image
leob

Totally understood, no two persons are the same, thanks for pointing that out because it's easy to overlook - and my feeling is that you're probably doing absolutely great, no need for an imposter syndrome for you!

Collapse
 
sherrydays profile image
Sherry Day

The little devil may never go away

It may not bo away, but does get better.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

+1

Collapse
 
louiseann93 profile image
Lou Willoughby

Yes 100%! 🙂

Collapse
 
mephi profile image
mephi

I think one has a higher risk of developing imposter syndrome with a higher number of people who think you can't be or shouldn't be what you are.
You get mixed signals and that isn't easy to deal with. Who is right? The person saying you have such a good understanding of programming, you have to do this or the person who told you to see no reason to even talk to you because you know nothing after years of learning?

Collapse
 
leob profile image
leob • Edited

"The more you know, the more you realize you know nothing yet", yes absolutely, but I don't see that as a problem, it's just a fact of life. And of course, yes, always keep learning.

Collapse
 
dumboprogrammer profile image
Tawhid

Recently, I also wrote a blog about coping with it

Collapse
 
louiseann93 profile image
Lou Willoughby

Ah, I’ll give it a read 🙂 it’s helpful to know others have experienced this also and learning tips from others! As awful as it is we can hopefully help each other 🙂

Collapse
 
dumboprogrammer profile image
Tawhid

Yeah.

Collapse
 
louiseann93 profile image
Lou Willoughby

Hi Luke, thank you for sharing the Dunning-Kruger effect, I’ve never seen or heard of this before but makes sense! 🙂 thank you !