DEV Community

Lucas Kelly
Lucas Kelly

Posted on

Programming at my day job

When you read the title of this post, you may think “what’s your day job? Isn’t that what you are supposed to do?”

The answer is I’m a trading assistant for a financial planning and investment office. And no, my job is not programming related at all. At least it wasn’t meant to be...

I’ve been at my job for almost 4 years now and have done much more than what I was originally hired to do. But since I began to learn how to program about 6 months ago, I have been able to save my employer probably a few hundred dollars at least by editing code on our server based Client Relationship Manager (CRM) myself. I literally just worked on the program today and saved probably at least $90 in fees that it would have cost to contact the company we usually work with to make changes.

I’m posting about this because it gives me hope that although I am not in a tech related job at the moment, it definitely is where I see myself in a couple years.

Talk to you all soon!

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
yolticmtzz profile image
Yoltic Mtzz

amazing and successful!!