DEV Community

Logan Watson
Logan Watson

Posted on

Where do you go to vent about work? Feel like I have no where to vent and it's not good for my mental health

Top comments (9)

Collapse
 
bherrero profile image
Borja Herrero

If I really need to talk about work I usually chat with one of my coworkers about it. But mostly, I would go outside to have a walk on the beach or exercise (surfing, racket sports, etc.) anything that is not work-related so I really clear my thoughts, especially negative ones.

Collapse
 
lwatson2 profile image
Logan Watson

I think that's what I might have to do. My gaming setup and my work setup is the exact same so lately whenever I sit down to play works on my mind. Might honestly start doing just do a walk around the block to clear my mind.

Collapse
 
bherrero profile image
Borja Herrero

Yeah, sometimes it's hard to separate those activities as you said. Something that could work with that is having different sessions, with different wallpapers, etc. So once you switch to your gaming session you feel like you're really into it and not thinking about work.

But yeah, I'd definitely go with the exercise option. Either a walk, a quick run or just something that moves your thoughts to a different place. I like Kieran's cooking idea!

Good luck mate

Collapse
 
kieran profile image
Kieran Bond

You should definitely try to do what you can to seperate the two - Otherwise you'll never truly switch off. I'm in the same situation at the moment, and I find the best thing for me to switch to relaxing mode is cooking!

Collapse
 
brentsuggs profile image
Brent Suggs

Usually just at home, to my partner and roommates. One of the reasons I've been trying to get more social on platforms like this and Twitter so I can make more techie friends.

Collapse
 
lwatson2 profile image
Logan Watson

Yeah I try to talk to my girlfriend but she doesn't really understand it you know? I would love to be social on here but Im just not that kind of person unfortunately.

Collapse
 
brentsuggs profile image
Brent Suggs

Exactly! As soon as I see that glazed over look in their eyes I usually start backtracking lol

I get it though, I have an anxiety disorder and it's not always that easy for me to connect with people. Especially on social media, where I feel just about anything can be taken out of context.

Collapse
 
walidvb profile image
Walid

I still think IRC has the most active and vibrant communities, where it is the easiest to talk. I'm saddened by the fact that discord and slack wasn't able to replicate that level of interaction, imo

Collapse
 
lwatson2 profile image
Logan Watson

I'm apart of one discord but it's so intimating that there's so many people I'm always afraid people are just going to jump down my throat if I say something.