DEV Community

Cover image for I'm New To Flutter.
Elizabeth Ajileye
Elizabeth Ajileye

Posted on • Updated on

I'm New To Flutter.

"Welcome to the world of Flutter!"

If you're reading this, chances are you're curious about building mobile apps with this popular framework. Maybe you're even an expert at this. I welcome you, either ways, to this incredibly powerful and flexible tool for building cross-platform apps.

Lego Building Blocks

"Flutter is a tool for building mobile apps, like the ones you use on your phone. Imagine you want to build a house, but instead of using different materials for the walls, roof, and floors, you use a special kind of LEGO block that can be used for everything! That's basically what Flutter does, but instead of LEGO blocks, it uses a single codebase to build apps for both Android and iOS systems. This means developers can create apps more efficiently and quickly, without having to start from scratch for each platform. It's like a magic LEGO block forΒ mobileΒ apps!"

This was probably the most basic and fun way I've seen Flutter described.

App Development text shown on a laptop screen

Flutter, the open-source mobile app development framework created by Google, has revolutionized the way we build cross-platform applications.
Flutter uses a modern language called Dart and a framework that focuses on declarative programming to help developers build fast and beautiful apps that work smoothly on both Android and iOS devices.

You most likely knew all these already, though.

What I'm actually going to be talking about in this article is how I transitioned from the Web aspect of programming into Mobile Development. So yeah, it's not a technical write-up.

Grab a cup of coffee or whatever , get comfortable, and join me on this thrilling journey about tribulations, and the lessons I've learned along the way. Buckle up, friend, as we dive into the world of coding!

App Development text shown on a laptop screen

Few years ago, I started out into programming. I was excited at first, you know, at the prospect of writing "codes". Of course, it was simple HTML and CSS. I loved styling, I created numerous simple projects, using those languages. I even created a clone of the YouTube homepage, with no functionalities whatsoever πŸ˜‚. At that time, I was almost never doing anything else.

You can probably predict that when I got to JavaScript, I ran 🀣.

GIF of Flutter mascot fainting

To think that it was only vanilla js. That was the first time, though. Okay...before then, I actually started out with Python, learnt the basics. It was a very good 4-hour YouTube video on Python programming basics.

So, like I was saying, the first time, I had a hard time understanding concepts like destructuring assignment in js, even the syntax of functions.
I remember applying for trainings, to understand js. Some of them weren't free, of course. I asked for help from friends, read materials to aid my understanding.

The second time I started all over, though, everything started to make sense. I loved js. If you read my previous article, you'd probably remember me mentioning I was addicted to solving algorithms on Codewars and HackerRank. It was mostly Codewars, though. It kept me up so late into the night. I can recall not sleeping a wink, this particular day, until about 6 a.m, because I was solving algorithms πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚.

All of these were after almost a year of trying to escape programming.

Sometime later, through the help of a friend, I got someone to mentor me in React js. For some reason, it still didn't resonate with me. At a point, I began to question if I was actually interested n programming. Lots of conversations in my head, questions on my mind. I resumed back to school and almost totally forgot to code.

A girl sitting, looking frustrated and sad.

I struggled with learning React JS, despite having a mentor to guide me. My difficulties led to self-doubt, and I wondered if programming was truly my passion. I had many inner conversations and questions, which ultimately led me to put coding on hold when I returned to school πŸ™‚. I felt like I wasn't cut out for programming.

.
..
...
....
.....

Later, I realized that setbacks and doubts are an inevitable part of growth. And so, right now, I'm taking another shot at coding, but this time with a fresh approach. Something a bit different.

You see, it's okay to take a break for a while, but never stop doing something because you think it's too difficult. I'm now on a mission to excel in mobile development, and I'm going to give it my best shot.

I'll talk about my motivation to learn Flutter some other time, but I'll wrap up here for now.

Thanks for reading!!😁😁

I'm open to connecting with you on LinkedIn.

Lego Building Blocks

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
anomalie profile image
Ano-ly

What an engaging write-up!🀩πŸ”₯

Collapse
 
lyzab profile image
Elizabeth Ajileye

Thank you very much, Ano-ly

Collapse
 
salstein profile image
Oluwaseun Salako

Your concept of explaining this in basic terms is πŸ”₯🀯... Keep it up Elizabeth.

Collapse
 
testimony_akinrinola_79de profile image
Testimony Akinrinola

Hun real cool 😎