DEV Community

Cover image for I created a terminal style website.
Yassine Fathi
Yassine Fathi

Posted on • Updated on

I created a terminal style website.

Screenshot of the website
Link: https://term.m4tt72.com
Repo: https://github.com/m4tt72/terminal

Why?

I'm a Linux enthusiast, and I tried creating something that will allow 'normal' people to have a glimpse at my world.

Feedback is welcomed 🙏

Top comments (75)

Collapse
 
jancizmar profile image
Jan Cizmar

That's cool! I wanted to create exact the same thing. Now I can just use yours and replace your name. :D

Collapse
 
m4tt72 profile image
Yassine Fathi

Haha, feel free to do that 👀. I might add a command that will generate a similar website with custom name, theme, font etc...

Collapse
 
jancizmar profile image
Jan Cizmar

I'd like it with black background please. 😄

Collapse
 
leodarpan profile image
DARPAN ANEJA

hahahaha. Very creative!!!

Collapse
 
doctorew profile image
Drew Schillinger • Edited

One feature suggestion -- perhaps complete the command with tab (like when I type whoa {tab} it completes to whom

Also, the jackass in me tried sudo. There's an Easter egg waiting for you to code with that somehow

(finishing my MBA by the end of next month and starting a new job next week. But if I have the time (which is a big iff), I'll make a PR)

Collapse
 
m4tt72 profile image
Yassine Fathi

@doctorew check out the latest release, I added the tab completions and... an easter egg... ;)

Collapse
 
doctorew profile image
Drew Schillinger

YO!!!! Are you me from the past?? LOL

I got a good (not so good) talking to when we redid the video site back in 2009 or 2010 and I inserted the Family Guy version of this when someone enters the Konami code.

Looking back, I have no idea how I kept that job with the shiz I pulled off in my formative years 😂😂 (yes I know that’s an old person’s emoji)

Collapse
 
m4tt72 profile image
Yassine Fathi

Oh yeah about that tab completions, I'm currently working on that. As well as arrows to browse the history. But I mean, I'm worried I'm going to reinvent bash 😅

Collapse
 
doctorew profile image
Drew Schillinger

Take it from an old geezer like me -- no such thing as "reinventing" when you see it as deeply learning why and how something works ;-)

Excelsior!

Collapse
 
rkoziol profile image
Radek K.

Wooow, looks really cool and original :D One remark from my side, maybe it will be better to get back focus on input when user click somewhere on the page? Now you need to click exactly in the line where input is.

Collapse
 
Sloan, the sloth mascot
Comment deleted
Collapse
 
m4tt72 profile image
Yassine Fathi

I might extract that data later and make it easy for other people to use ;)

Collapse
 
doctorew profile image
Drew Schillinger • Edited

Love it! Reminds me of the time we made the Adult Swim site look like a broken server /Apache directory. Everybody thought we got hacked -- even the server devs (who knew we were on Nginx and could see there was ads on the page💀💀)

Collapse
 
suavebajaj profile image
Suave Bajaj

I am not able to see the terminal style as posted. Have you changed the website design?

Collapse
 
m4tt72 profile image
Yassine Fathi

Yes, now it's available on term.m4tt72.com

Collapse
 
suavebajaj profile image
Suave Bajaj

Ok! I should have not entered sudo. But wow! amazing work

Collapse
 
yuanhao profile image
YuanHao Chiang

Looks amazing. The weather widget blew my mind -- does it look like that on Linux at all?

Collapse
 
yuanhao profile image
YuanHao Chiang

Ahh, also, I am getting an error on your instagram link account: instagram.com/m4tt72

Collapse
 
m4tt72 profile image
Yassine Fathi

Thanks for pointing that out 🙏

Collapse
 
eljayadobe profile image
Eljay-Adobe

Now if it had moria or angband or rogue or nethack or omega...

Very retro, I like it!

Collapse
 
m4tt72 profile image
Yassine Fathi

Oh nice suggestion! Thanks

Collapse
 
rohithaditya profile image
Rohithaditya

Cool

Collapse
 
skino2020 profile image
skino • Edited

Absolutely Love this. i dropped you an email but here is what i have so far to my edit :)

My Terminal

Collapse
 
m4tt72 profile image
Yassine Fathi

That's cool!

Collapse
 
alco profile image
Jakub Stibůrek

Awesome project.

Collapse
 
jaskaran5ingh profile image
Jaskaran Singh

That's awesome

Collapse
 
bekbrace profile image
Bek Brace

Great job, Yassine [nice touch for Vim and Emacs ;) )
Can I use your code and modify it for my own use ?
I will give you full credit with your page link
Thanks

Collapse
 
m4tt72 profile image
Yassine Fathi

Hello Ben, thank you! Yes of course, the project is open-source, feel free to use it. Also if you have any suggestions that will help improve the project, feel free to submit a PR ;)

Collapse
 
prana10 profile image
Prana

wow

Collapse
 
hilalahmad32 profile image
Hilal ahmad

sir how i contact you
+923423601581
whatsapp me Please