DEV Community

Cover image for How do you manage the content for your portfolio?
Madza
Madza

Posted on

How do you manage the content for your portfolio?

A nice portfolio is a must-have for any developer. Having it frequently updated is equally important to make it appealing for requiters. How do you manage content in your portfolio?

Do you use some CMS like Sanity, Strapi, Contentful, Netlify CMS, Ghost, or Forestry?

Maybe you don't have set up any CMS or written any GUI for it and you do still update the local code directly and then push it?

Or maybe you have automatized the process by fetching data from GitHub, DEV, etc, so you don't have to worry about it at all?

Top comments (15)

Collapse
 
jesusra1p profile image
JesúsRA • Edited

I built my own mini-CMS, it contains a CRUD for my projects, CRUD for technologies that I use and a view to edit my personal information, all of that with UI.
This is my portfolio jesusra.com and I also created an web app to create your own web portfolio with all this options, you just have to sign up and start to add your information, give it a look my-portfolio.digital

Collapse
 
madza profile image
Madza

Nice portfolio right there 😉
And yeah, no CMS will ever replace the custom-built one specifically for your own needs. 👍

Collapse
 
jesusra1p profile image
JesúsRA

Thank you so much! 😁
That's right! Maybe later I could try one of those CMS 🤓

Collapse
 
vaishnavs profile image
Vaishnav

I mostly update code and push it to Github. I use netlify to host site.
One thing I did is, I didn't wanted to add blog link everytime I write something on Dev. So I use API to get every blog on my portfolio.

Here's my Portfolio vaishnavs.netlify.app

Here's How I fetch blog post on my portfolio
Embed Dev blog post Anywhere

Collapse
 
madza profile image
Madza

This looks super clean man! 😍
Good job on it 👍

Collapse
 
vaishnavs profile image
Vaishnav • Edited

Thank you😄

Collapse
 
patarapolw profile image
Pacharapol Withayasakpunt • Edited

I used to build my CMS, but I currently use Git-based flat file.

It's not only about storage and database structure, but also about diffing and versioning.

Still, in the end, I do build NoSQL database on the fly.

Collapse
 
raulfdm profile image
Raul Melo

I struggled a bit with this problem.

Tried TinaCMS, found some bugs and drop it.
Tried NetlifyCMS but IMO the setup for local environment, etc., is too complex.
Tried a couple of paid ones but I wasn't willing to pay for that.

So I found Strapi and I'm stick with it.

raulmelo.dev/

All my relevant information is there:

  • posts
  • personal information
  • pictures
  • CV information

Since my website uses next, I just use the Strapi server to get data in build time, which saves me about having to pay for a node server. Also I don't have much data so mongoDB free is good enough.

Collapse
 
booleanhunter profile image
Ashwin Hariharan • Edited

For my portfolio, the updates are rather simple and not very frequent (such as a job change, or if I learned a big new skill), so I just update it directly in the relevant HTML file and make a git commit and push.

For my blog has been in Hugo I've been following a rather simple method - write stuff in an online markdown editor like slackedit.io and preview it. Then I'll just copy-paste it in a markdown file, and do a git commit and push to the repository. From then on Gitlab and Netlify take care of the rest. Have been considering using a good CMS now.

Collapse
 
_garybell profile image
Gary Bell

Currently Ghost.org. I've started writing the content in source controlled markdown in GitLab.

I'm weighing up whether to migrate Ghost to a hosting provider to save money, go down the static site route, or possibly build my own CMS for it as a side project.

Part of me likes the idea of a static site which uses GitLab pipelines to manage everything, but I also really like being able to rely on the scheduler for publishing posts which comes with a CMS.

One of my goals for next year is contribute more to open source. I want that to not be my own project so I'm looking for low-ish key CMS stuff to which I can contribute. Failing that, I'll contribute to GitLab, and open source a blog CMS that I build.

Collapse
 
liukonen profile image
Luke Liukonen

I am using Github Pages to host my own domain name. Since I am a full-stack developer, I might as well write my own homepage and get it to exactly how I want it. I feel sometimes you can spend more time customizing a CMS to your liking and not getting what you want, then just writing what you want outright. If it did get to be too much though, I'd consider a CMS platform. I host a version of Grav internally on my one server as a landing page for all my devices and a document repo.

Collapse
 
kalashin1 profile image
Kinanee Samson

Fetch data from an API is better na

Collapse
 
highcenburg profile image
Vicente G. Reyes

My current portfolio fetches data from DatoCMS using GraphQL.

My blog is using Hashnode.

Collapse
 
madza profile image
Madza

Lately, I've seen DatoCMS being mentioned a lot 😉
I should give it a spin when I get a chance to work on something that would need it 😉

Collapse
 
jonrandy profile image
Jon Randy 🎖️

A nice portfolio is a must-have for any developer.

Really? I've never had or needed one, or looked for one when screening/interviewing candidates