DEV Community

Cover image for What are you glad you no longer use?
Madza
Madza

Posted on

What are you glad you no longer use?

Ether you found it to be too distracting, waste of the time, too low of a quality, too bloated or you just don't trust particular brand and found another alternative...

What service or tool are you glad you stopped using?

Top comments (119)

Collapse
 
djnitehawk profile image
Dĵ ΝιΓΞΗΛψΚ • Edited
  1. chrome > new edge
  2. php > .net core
  3. sql > mongodb
  4. wordpress > custom websites
  5. own smtp server > amazon ses
  6. jetbrains > vscode
  7. vue > svelte
  8. bootstrap > tailwinds
  9. asp.net mvc/api > servicestack
  10. layered architecture > vertical slices

there's 10 off the top of my head. there's too many to name I guess.

Collapse
 
yobretyo profile image
Bret

Why the switch from JetBrains to VSC? And, Vue to Svelte?

Collapse
 
agiesey profile image
AGiesey

I haven't used JetBrains in a long time, but I loved it. I started using VS Code about 2 years ago and I think it's amazing. I can't compare JetBrains and VS Code but I can tell you I was an immediate beliver. Oh, and I hate Visual Studio.

Collapse
 
djnitehawk profile image
Dĵ ΝιΓΞΗΛψΚ

vscode: better look & feel (personal preference i guess), feels lighter, one text editor to rule them all.

svelte: better/simpler developer experience, no virtual dom, easier state management, smaller bundle size. snappier user experience.

Thread Thread
 
yobretyo profile image
Bret

I’m getting into Data Science, I just found out about creating “tasks” in VSC and It’s helped allot. I’m liking JetBrains because, it seems lighter than VSC, I wish it had some more add ons . I’ve been using React over Vue but Vue seemed simpler but more “sugar” of their own syntax. Will you try Vue3 at some point?

Thread Thread
 
djnitehawk profile image
Dĵ ΝιΓΞΗΛψΚ

i see no reason to go back to vue or even try vue3. unless vue4 becomes a compiler like svelte. not having a virtual dom is a huge bonus from what i've seen. also svelte stores with auto subscription is just too easy compared to working with vuex imho.

Thread Thread
 
adam_cyclones profile image
Adam Crockett 🌀

I'm now interested. Vue has been getting on my nerves lately. There is so much boilerplate! I guess Vue 3 may be better but I fear that I will still get stuck and have little help in terms of errors. I'm looking at you Vue reactivity model, why you no react?

Thread Thread
 
yobretyo profile image
Bret

I hate the constant errors, you type one “.” Period, and it’s error error error error ...

Thread Thread
 
adam_cyclones profile image
Adam Crockett 🌀

20 errors from Vue.esm telling me that everything broke. I totally understand, get out of the way Vue!

Collapse
 
hi_artem profile image
Artem

jetbrains is pricey

Thread Thread
 
yobretyo profile image
Bret

So $24 a month, is pricey for a editor?

Thread Thread
 
hi_artem profile image
Artem

Back in school I had a free student license, but after it expired the price was around $500-600 a year. It might be cheaper now.

Thread Thread
 
jakubriedl profile image
Jakub Riedl

You can use beta for free. Its called early access program (EAP) jetbrains.com/resources/eap/. I used that more then a year and never had any issue that would affect my productivity or experience.

Thread Thread
 
yobretyo profile image
Bret

Ok, so is $25 a month good? Apparently it goes down the second month, or that might be if you pay by year all at once

Thread Thread
 
hi_artem profile image
Artem

$25 a month is definitely a great deal for JetBrains product

Thread Thread
 
steinbring profile image
Joe Steinbring

It seems like every meet-up I've ever been to has involved the give away of a free JetBrains key. If you don't want to pay for a key, go visit almost any meet-up group out there. ;)

Thread Thread
 
hi_artem profile image
Artem

Haha good to know! Will do.

Thread Thread
 
yobretyo profile image
Bret

What’s a meet-up?

Thread Thread
 
adam_cyclones profile image
Adam Crockett 🌀 • Edited

A meet-up is a place where other programmers go to hang out, pretend to talk to each other for a bit and then just do thier own work for a while before showing what they have done. It's basically an introvert party. This is all down to personal experience, your experience may differ.

Thread Thread
 
steinbring profile image
Joe Steinbring

There is typically a focus for the individual meet-up group (JavaScript, C#, Vue.js, AWS, etc). They usually meet once per month in a company's (that financially sponsors the group) presentation space. There is usually free food and drinks (including beer if that is how the sponsor rolls). Each month's meetup starts with a presentation on a topic (something like "What's new in Vue 3") and then there is social time afterwards so that you can chat with like-minded folks.

It's called what it is because most of these groups organize on meetup.com and I have never seen there be a cost to attend one but they usually have a jar out for donations (meetup.com charges a lot for a host account).

Example: meetup.com/Angular-Boston/events/2...

 
yobretyo profile image
Bret

ok, where can you find events for one?

Thread Thread
 
adam_cyclones profile image
Adam Crockett 🌀

meetup.com

Collapse
 
louislow profile image
Louis Low • Edited

JetBrains is pricey, but their IDE is really amazing. I still have one left of their product WebStorm that has only a few months to spend. After that, would be a forever goodbye.

Collapse
 
dansilcox profile image
Dan Silcox

I read these as ‘greater than’ signs and started thinking ‘really???’ 😂

Collapse
 
agiesey profile image
AGiesey

Same, until I got to PHP > .NET Core 😂

Thread Thread
 
djnitehawk profile image
Dĵ ΝιΓΞΗΛψΚ

lol yeah there's not even a parallel universe where php can be greater than .net right 😜

Collapse
 
djnitehawk profile image
Dĵ ΝιΓΞΗΛψΚ

lol no way 🤪
well I guess you read it wrong cause the outcome wasnt being assigned to a variable 😜

Collapse
 
absoftware profile image
Ariel Bogdziewicz

O man. I’m definitely on the left side with everything there. Your new tools are on right side, right? Hard to believe.

Collapse
 
djnitehawk profile image
Dĵ ΝιΓΞΗΛψΚ

yeah new stuff on the right. but in all honesty it's your own level of intelligence and experience that makes you a good developer imho. not just the tools you use. I'm a really lazy developer so I always try to find stuff that does things more efficiently and easily than what im currently using/doing.

Collapse
 
valentinbcn profile image
Valentin

I find your 4. quite unpopular (but I agree so muuuuch) but
why do you prefer custom websites over wordpress ? and what do you mean by custom ?
using frameworks ? building them from scratch ?

:)

Collapse
 
djnitehawk profile image
Dĵ ΝιΓΞΗΛψΚ

it really depends on the complexity of the requirements I guess. most of the sites I had to work on became so complex and bloated its a real nightmare with all the plugins and integrations. feels like too many moving parts glued together by duct tape. nowadays for simple static content sites I use either docfx or 11ty. data driven or crud based sites I build with svelte and servicestack.

Collapse
 
joaquinwojcik profile image
Joaquin Wojcik

What about vertical slices over layered architecture?

Collapse
 
djnitehawk profile image
Dĵ ΝιΓΞΗΛψΚ

here's a video I found useful when I first got introduced to vertical slice arch. pls skip the first 17:00 minutes.
however I don't personally use the mediator pattern like they show in the video. I have a .net core web api project on github if anybody wanna see how I do it now.

Thread Thread
 
ca0v profile image
Corey Alix

Nice

Collapse
 
gmarokov profile image
Georgi Marokov

Mongodb is not a silver bullet :)

Collapse
 
djnitehawk profile image
Dĵ ΝιΓΞΗΛψΚ • Edited

definitely not. but I find the mongodb developer experience much friendlier and my apps are much easier to evolve compared to the sql hell I was in. infact I wrote my own mongo db library which makes things way easier for my teams.

Collapse
 
yannik_sc profile image
Yannik_Sc

You know that you switched from chrome to chrome (more or less)?

Collapse
 
djnitehawk profile image
Dĵ ΝιΓΞΗΛψΚ

lol yeah but edge feels leaner.

Collapse
 
hrishio profile image
Hrishi Mittal

Windows 😀

Collapse
 
_garybell profile image
Gary Bell

I was going to say Internet Explorer. Sadly I still have to use Windows for work, though 90% of my work is done inside a Linux virtual machine

Collapse
 
blatt profile image
Daniel Blatt

Especially Windows ME

Collapse
 
natelindev profile image
Nathaniel

I like macOS way too much. No more ctrl+c problems, system updates are controllable, app shortcut keys are unified, fonts are super sharp on hi-res monitor, etc.

Collapse
 
guessss_who profile image
Igor Pomaranski
  1. PHP. At some point I've even thought, that programming is not the thing I want to do in my life. But then I switch to Python, and it changed everything. Now I'm back on track and looking at another languages too.
  2. Notepads and simple code editors. Life is too short to waste time on things which are perfect job for computer (like manual refactoring, looking up superclasses, remembering from where to import things, running tests by manually typing commands etc etc). Now I use paid JetBrains IDEs.
Collapse
 
rakshakannu profile image
Raksha Kannusami

SOCIAL MEDIA.
I have turned off all the push notifications. I deactivate my social media accounts (especially Instagram, Facebook, and Twitter) now and then. This has helped me focus more on my long term goals and increased my productivity.
It also helped me reduce the feelings of anxiety and imposter syndrome!

Collapse
 
v6 profile image
🦄N B🛡

I'm glad I'm no longer on Facehook, because it wasted so much of my time. They have great engineers, but their choices of product & business model disappoint me.

Collapse
 
jonrandy profile image
Jon Randy 🎖️

Windows

Collapse
 
steinbring profile image
Joe Steinbring

One of my personal rules has become that if an employer tries to make you use windows, you shouldn't be there (no matter how much they offer). If they insist on kneecapping you to save $1000 on hardware, it's a sign.

Collapse
 
jonrandy profile image
Jon Randy 🎖️ • Edited

Why would Windows save them money? Linux is free. I guess it would save them money if buying employees MacBooks though

Thread Thread
 
steinbring profile image
Joe Steinbring

An employer saves money with Windows when they go out to BestBuy and get a $500 HP box to use as your workstation. Putting linux on it afterwards isn't going to save them anything. Dell and Lenovo both sell lovely computers that are preloaded with Linux. They aren't going to be at "I don't care what you use" prices, though and it's beyond the capabilities of a company that is managing 1000+ employee machines.

Thread Thread
 
jonrandy profile image
Jon Randy 🎖️ • Edited

Really? That surprises me. I bought a Dell laptop with Ubuntu pre-installed. It was considerably cheaper than the exact same model with the latest Windows crap

Thread Thread
 
v6 profile image
🦄N B🛡

Well it'd be news to a lot of purchasing departments, I expect. Preach.

Collapse
 
louislow profile image
Louis Low • Edited

AngularJS >> VueJS, KrugurtJS (proprietary)
JQuery >> Vanilla JS
Bootstrap >> Vanilla CSS, Yogurt
Windows >> Linux
JetBrain >> Monolith (proprietary)
Apache/NGINX >> NodeJS
WordPress >> 11ty
Traditional Share Hosting >> Digital Ocean
HP/DELL >> Lenovo ThinkPad
Samsung Smaprtphone >> Sony XPERIA Smartphone
Canon DSLR >> Sony Alpha DSLR

Collapse
 
soulsbane profile image
Paul Crane

Why Yogurt over Tailwind? They seem similar. I'm using Tailwind right now. Thanks!

Collapse
 
louislow profile image
Louis Low • Edited

It just a matter of personal preference. I am Yogurt clan.

Thread Thread
 
soulsbane profile image
Paul Crane

I see. Thanks!

Collapse
 
joelrozen profile image
Joel Rozen

Not so much tech related but I found my life improve tenfold when I went from
Instagram / Facebook / Snapchat -> Nothing (I am still on Twitter, but desktop only)
Emails on my phone -> No email client on my phone

Also tech related
Working in Finance -> Being a Developer
JavaScript -> TypeScript

Collapse
 
lkhrs profile image
Luke Harris

I agree with leaving social networks, earlier this year I deleted everything except for Twitter (which I limit to about 15min a day) and my life is a lot better.

Collapse
 
v6 profile image
🦄N B🛡

Are you still on Link Din?

Collapse
 
paraspl01t profile image
Tushar Tyagi

I started web development 6 years ago back when I was learning PHP.
Since then I've ditched many tools and technologies for better alternatives. Some of them I can remember are:

  1. notepad++ > brackets > atom > VSCode
    Left npp when I came to know about brackets. but brackets too couldn't keep up with rise of atom. atom is too buggy and slow nowadays so VSCode for life.

  2. Xampp on windows > NGINX, PHP, MySql setup on local Ubuntu server
    Best decision of my life.

  3. Bootstrap > Materialize > Own CSS reset and utility file.
    CSS libraries are bloat.

  4. jQuery > vanilla JS
    youmightnotneedjquery.com/

  5. Windows 7 > Windows 10 > Ubuntu > Manjaro
    F**k Windows! Seriously.

  6. PHP > Node.js
    PHP is just over complicated.

  7. MySql > MongoDB
    MongoDB is a NoSQL database that stores data as JSON-like documents. This works really well with Node.js

  8. Wordpress > Custom CMS / any static site generator.
    Wordpress is just too heavy and overkill for most cases and I don't like PHP anyways.

  9. Google Drive > GItHub
    No explainition needed

  10. bash > zsh
    like bash, zsh is a also a UNIX shell but offers more customization/theming options and git integration.

  11. Shitty laptop > somewhat OK desktop.

  12. Hotel > Trivago

Collapse
 
maartz profile image
Maartz • Edited
  1. Chrome -> new Safari

  2. JS/TS -> Go ( I do backend )

  3. Mongo -> RDBS and GraphDB

  4. WP -> SSG like Hugo

  5. VSCode -> Vim

  6. Monolith -> M/SOA

  7. JSON -> Protobuf / gRPC

Never used Windows to work so I stick with macOS and Arch.

Collapse
 
djnitehawk profile image
Dĵ ΝιΓΞΗΛψΚ

I've been investigating neo4j lately. I like the query language and I do feel like it's a better alternative database than mongo for doing highly relational apps. however I'm holding off until there's gonna be a driver that doesn't require me to write my queries as strings. I'm too addicted to the strong typing and linq support I get from c#.

Collapse
 
maartz profile image
Maartz

Yeah linq style is hot!
I do like how Ecto's use this style to query DBs in Elixir this way.
Not fond of C# but definitely of linq style.

Collapse
 
yannik_sc profile image
Yannik_Sc

Windows -> Linux -- everywhere and it's so much easier and makes less problems
Any JS Frontend Framework (Like Vue/React etc.) -> HTML, CSS, JS --- feels much more simple and faster
C++ -> Rust -- I never had so many problems with learning a language, but also never had a program running so stable

Collapse
 
djnitehawk profile image
Dĵ ΝιΓΞΗΛψΚ

yes deliverability was the main reason i gave up on managing my own smtp server. when the amount of emails you need to send out increases it's too easy to get your server ip blacklisted. ses also needs to be configured properly with spf, dkim, dmarc, etc. you can use a tool like this to determine what needs to be done. your apps should also be removing bounced email addresses from the database, which can be handled by sns topic subscriptions. nowadays, deliverability is all about maintaining email/spam reputation. even though it can all be done on your own, it's just convenient to outsource it to ses due to the low cost. i've been sending over 2k emails daily during the past few years with ses and haven't had a single undelivered email yet (i.e. if the mailbox was valid and reachable). it's quite reliable. btw, in case anyone's wondering, i'm not sending 2k spam/marketing mails a day. i have a change detection & notification service that only sends solicited emails.

Collapse
 
junopaulo profile image
junopaulo

Windows -> Linux -> macOS

I still use Linux in my desktop but macOS has the advantage of having enterprise apps like MS Office while having a nice interface and being a Unix system

Collapse
 
patarapolw profile image
Pacharapol Withayasakpunt

Linux - hardware nor premium software support are never good.

macOS - keyboard settings are messed up. If you ever need Xcode, I totally hate it. Never tried Hackintosh.

I would hate to use both Linux and macOS at the same time.

Collapse
 
cyberhck profile image
Nishchal Gautam

Php - > golang - > dotnet core (I'm ashamed even to admit that I used to do php)
Javascript - > typescript
Sublime text/other text editors-> actual IDE from jetbrains
Windows - > Ubuntu (I play only 1 game, cs:go, it runs better on Ubuntu)
Bash - > zsh
That's all I can think of for now

Collapse
 
louislow profile image
Louis Low • Edited

Ha! In 2020, I still play Diablo 2 on a crazy fast laptop that runs Linux Ubuntu. My necromancer sweeps the map like a Tsunami wave with these summoned skeletons as many as the game allowed.

Diablo 2 Linux

Collapse
 
shunjid profile image
Shunjid Rahman Showrov

Facebook => Twitter
Windows => Ubuntu

Collapse
 
riidom profile image
riidom

Windows -> Linux (at least at home)
CMS -> hand-written (at least for my personal blog)
IRC, Discord, Matrix -> nothing (no more random lurking in channels, reading people I'm not interested in anyway)
google mail -> posteo.net/hoster provided (not entirely yet)