DEV Community

Cover image for What localhost tunnels have you used?
Madza
Madza

Posted on

What localhost tunnels have you used?

During development, the application runs on our local machine. If you want to make your machine accessible from the outside there are solutions like ngrok.com, localhost.run, localtunnel.me, etc..

Have you ever used some of these and which has been your favorite?

Top comments (19)

Collapse
 
kretaceous profile image
Abhijit Hota

Just want to take a moment and say that your #discuss posts actually teach me a lot!

Like in this case, I didn't even know that localhost tunnels existed! I've heard terms and concepts like SSH tunneling and also have connected to remote servers. (I don't know why haven't I thought about localhost tunneling being a technology.) But the fact that services like ngrok exist, makes me really rethink how much I don't know what I don't know!

Collapse
 
madza profile image
Madza

I always thought the discussion format is the best way to learn. I always try to give my knowledge on the top too, so others can get some info from the initial post too. Furthermore, browsing through comments there are lots of valuable information, it's awesome to exchange the knowledge and it's a win-win for all of us participating ❤💯

Collapse
 
kretaceous profile image
Abhijit Hota

Yes, exactly!
Thank you again for such fruitful discussions! :D

Collapse
 
tundeajibawo profile image
Tunde Ajibawo

Ngrok is a ok

Collapse
 
jpramod profile image
Pramod Jadhav • Edited

The easiest way, without using any third-party tools is to use a reverse, SSH tunnel.
The pre-requisite

  • Preferably Linux based machine available over the internet
  • ssh access to the machine

Execute the below command to create a reverse tunnel from the remote machine to the localhost

ssh <USER>@<REMOTE_IP> -R <REMOTE_PORT>:<LOCAL_HOST>:<LOCAL_PORT>

All requests from REMOTE_PORT are forwarded : using the created tunnel

To expose hello world http service running on 8080 can be exposed over the internet using

ssh <USER>@<REMOTE_IP> -R <REMOTE_PORT>:localhost:8080

HTTP://REMOTE_IP:REMOTE_PORT/hello...

Collapse
 
atoonk profile image
Andree Toonk

for those interested, also look at this brand new service I just released: mysocket
It's a fully anycasted service similar to ngrok, with lots of features!
dev.to/aws-builders/introducing-my...

Curious about your thoughts, and feedback! :) You should be able to get started in <1 min.
Demo video:
youtube.com/watch?v=lEZX_xCTDlo

Collapse
 
bpdarlyn profile image
darlyn

ngrok.com

Collapse
 
adamlacombe profile image
Adam LaCombe

My favorite is Cloudflare's Argo Tunnel developers.cloudflare.com/argo-tun...

Collapse
 
vic0de profile image
Vishnu Dileesh

serveo, localhost.run, ngrok

Collapse
 
rust7 profile image
rust-7
Collapse
 
debjit profile image
Debjit Biswas

I use laragon's share option which uses ngrock's free plan.

Collapse
 
madza profile image
Madza

I love Laragon too, awesome tool 🔥🔥

Collapse
 
alexkhismatulin profile image
Alex Khismatulin

ngrok's free plan covers everything I needed from localhost tunnels so far

Collapse
 
alfiemg profile image
alfiemg

ngrok works well.

Collapse
 
harisvsulaiman profile image
Haris sulaiman

If you want a stable domain and a OSS product, look into inlets.dev. This is what we use at cloodot

Collapse
 
quillcodes profile image
QuillCodes

I'm a big fan of ngrok and their premium lets me set up a consistent domain so I don't have to adjust any hostname configuration.

Collapse
 
imthedeveloper profile image
ImTheDeveloper

Agree it's worth the payment for me when I'm using it daily.

Collapse
 
bimlas profile image
bimlas

Ngrok, because it's logging the requests at localhost:4040 which is handy to test APIs.

Collapse
 
vuelancer profile image
Vuelancer
  • localhost - localhost.run/ - It may be useful to use some circumstances.