DEV Community

Manal BENCHRIF
Manal BENCHRIF

Posted on • Updated on

The core of graphic design(my modest experience)

Graphic design can be found nowhere ... in the media, articles, posts, billboards, applications ...

Maybe for a few it's just typography of shapes in general a design ... but the core of graphic design goes beyond this superficial vision.

The idea is more than the design itself, the idea is to combine all the tools (image, shape, text, movement ...) to communicate an idea in a simple and smart way.

Personally when I started mobile application development the first time, I believed that the important thing is to create new layouts with different colors, shapes, styles ... but when I decided to create my first application which has an objective, and which targets a category. At this point my vision is completely changed.

Why?

I did a little experiment. I created a few pages with different designs and colors. And I have sent to different people to find out what is included in these pages. The worst they liked the colors, the shape, the animation but the idea is poorly conveyed.

The solution?

I focused on the idea and based on the idea I created some kind layouts. (The converse leads to a worthless product because the idea is not clear)

So I tried to share my little experience with you. If I was wrong, please let me know. If you have any additional information or experiences you are free to share in the comments.

Graphic design can be found nowhere ... in the media, articles, posts, billboards, applications ...

Maybe for a few it's just typography of shapes in general a design ... but the core of graphic design goes beyond this superficial vision.

The idea is more than the design itself, the idea is to combine all the tools (image, shape, text, movement ...) to communicate an idea in a simple and smart way.

Personally when I started mobile application development the first time, I believed that the important thing is to create new layouts with different colors, shapes, styles ... but when I decided to create my first application which has an objective, and which targets a category. At this point my vision is completely changed.

Why?

I did a little experiment. I created a few pages with different designs and colors. And I have sent to different people to find out what is included in these pages. The worst they liked the colors, the shape, the animation but the idea is poorly conveyed.

The solution?

I focused on the idea and based on the idea I created some kind layouts. (The converse leads to a worthless product because the idea is not clear)

So I tried to share my little experience with you. If I was wrong, please let me know. If you have any additional information or experiences you are free to share in the comments.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
jasondavis_2 profile image
Jason Davis

There are many key design concepts that you experienced. I am a beginner level designer at Monster Logo Design and I am also finding these concepts while working on my projects.