DEV Community

Manuel Artero Anguita 🟨
Manuel Artero Anguita 🟨

Posted on

Reminder: Contribute means opening issues and documentation too

One of the things that I still need to achieve in my professional career is to contribute more to open source software. This being said, I don't beat myself up about it, as juggling a full-time job and personal responsibilities is simply a fact of life for me.

It's important to remember that contributing to the community isn't just about fixing bugs in the core library.

Opening an issue because something in the documentation is outdated, proposing an improvement to a paragraph in the documentation, or opening a detailed bug... all of these little things are also contributions.

In the last few months, I've opened issues (mostly related to documentation) at @microsoft, @npm, @mdn, @reactjs, and @storybook; I like to think that they are small, yet valuable, contributions to the community.

Image description

What do you think 💚?

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
vulcanwm profile image
Medea

This is a very important point!
Thanks for pointing it out