DEV Community

Cover image for From Canvas to Command-lines
MarciaSatie
MarciaSatie

Posted on

From Canvas to Command-lines

When I say Canvas, I am literally mentioning that whiteboard canvas where we add colors with brush.

I am an artist, more specifically a 2D animator, and after working more than 10 years in this area, I just realized, that I don't want to do this anymore...

My reasons why:
Honestly what drives my motivation is the possibility of learning, improving myself (or the process), figuring out ways to make life (mainly mine) better and I got to a point where I couldn't find fulfillment anymore. Until I found out coding.

Actually, I have to blame the moment I worked at a Mobile company years ago.
During that time they needed an animator to create digital animations for their kid's app. That company had everything we imagined about innovative tech companies; a cool environment, a fridge full of beer, breakfast every day, trying to create the next solution that will change the world, and people trying to enhance themselves.

Of course, all these amenities are great, but it is not enough to make you decide to pivot your career (even though I miss the fridge full of beer).
What amazed me was being able to create solutions that can help people, make lives easier, and how people motivate each other to keep learning to polish up their skills.

Sadly because of a crisis in my country, a lot of people, including me, got laid off from the company.

Since that, I have been working on animation, but I realized that I want to be part of that environment of continuous improvement again.

Took me some time, mainly to gain confidence about being a software developer, but now I made up my mind and decided to start my journey to learn Coding.

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
camdez profile image
Cameron Desautels

If you like learning, the development path has unlimited rewards. I've been coding for 25+ years, and I learn as much each day now as I did when I startedβ€”just different, deeper things. Congrats on starting your journey!

Collapse
 
marciasatie profile image
MarciaSatie

Thanks Cameron =D

Collapse
 
techvision profile image
Tech Vision

Every developer, no matter their experience, must continuously learn and adapt; the learning never stops.

Some of the best engineers I've worked with have successfully transitioned to software development. It demands considerable effort but is entirely achievable and extremely rewarding.

Good luck on your journey πŸ’ͺ

Collapse
 
marciasatie profile image
MarciaSatie

Thanks for your message =D