DEV Community

Marko Anastasov
Marko Anastasov

Posted on

Are you learning a new language in 2019? Share your story.

My next is Go. I've been having more "maker" than "manager" time recently, so getting back into prototyping potential new Semaphore features.

Ruby has been my go-to language for years, but when the use case is system software, it's hard to beat a tiny, self-contained, portable binary. Or a 10MB Docker image.

What about you?

Top comments (21)

Collapse
 
mskog profile image
Magnus Skog

As part of my perhaps too ambitious goals for 2019 I am going to attempt to get through 6 courses on Udemy. Among them are courses in Go and Rust. I am mainly a Ruby developer at work so I wanted to learn something for system programming as well.

Collapse
 
zhadyrassyn profile image
Daniyar Zhadyrassyn

Can you tell what courses are you going to take in Udemy?

Collapse
 
mskog profile image
Magnus Skog • Edited
Collapse
 
niorad profile image
Antonio Radovcic

Go is awesome! It was my first new language 2018. I made a game-prototype with it, and some smaller programs like a favicon-to-ascii-converter.

Also, end of last year I did a bit Elixir, and really liked what I saw! Did some advent-of-codes with it and went through Dave Thomas' course. Let's see if I'll have a use-case someday.

2019: Swift, Math/CS-Fundamentals, maybe Elm

This year started with Swift/Cocoa for me. I wanted to redo an Electron-App I made for image-perspective-correction natively. It took me much less time (as JS-dev) than the Electron-version and it's so much faster! It was fun to learn Swift and right now I'm going through a MacOS-Dev-course.

Additionally I really really need to work at least a bit on CS-fundamentals. There's a Math-for-Devs book I peaked into and I'm planning on working through it. I have an OK basic knowledge but I'm mostly self-taught.

Collapse
 
markoa profile image
Marko Anastasov

Re. fundamentals, I'd recommend getting to know how the computer and operating system work from scratch. I've seen many newcomers who lack that knowledge hit a wall in terms of what problems they can solve and how much they can advance as developers. The work of Tanenbaum is a classic.

Collapse
 
niorad profile image
Antonio Radovcic

And thanks again, it's a very good book. I'm just at page 60 and already it helped connect lots of bits of knowledge I had previously to the bigger picture.

Collapse
 
niorad profile image
Antonio Radovcic

thanks!

Collapse
 
gameoverwill profile image
Wilfredo Pérez

Well I finished the last year learning flutter becuase I got bored using ReactNative. So Flutter uses Dart as programming lenguage so the last year I didn't have enough time to learn it.

Well in my 2019 trello todo list I've "Learn Dart" I bought a course in Udemy but the main goal is release my first app creatted with flutter.

Collapse
 
markoa profile image
Marko Anastasov

Learning while having a project you're passionate about = success

Collapse
 
zhadyrassyn profile image
Daniyar Zhadyrassyn

My next language to learn is gonna be Go lang

Collapse
 
ahmaddeel profile image
AhmadDeel • Edited

I'm still learning angular
Try to learn solidity

Collapse
 
markoa profile image
Marko Anastasov

Yeah, personally I’ve never learned a new language without a concrete project that I wanted to start with as soon as I get the basics.

Collapse
 
diek profile image
diek

Precisely this year I don't want to learn any new language, I want to boost my current skills :)

Collapse
 
markoa profile image
Marko Anastasov

That’s great! Anything you want to focus on in particular?

Collapse
 
diek profile image
diek

I don't really know yet, I only can tell that I want to improve my js world knowledge, better rest express apps and better and fast angular builds. Ah well, and finish college, 1 exam left. :)

Collapse
 
aturingmachine profile image
Vince

Learning Kotlin with Spring Boot while doing a side project with some work friends. Been working with Spring Boot Java for about 6 months now and Kotlin is a nice change of pace for a side project.

Collapse
 
stevenconner profile image
Steven Conner

I'm taking on Dart (Flutter to be exact) this year :) going to rewrite one of my existing React Native apps to Flutter to learn it

Collapse
 
markoa profile image
Marko Anastasov

Going deeper is always a good decision!

Collapse
 
brandtcodes profile image
Alex Brandt

Same here, @stephenradams . TypeScript is amazing :-)
My challenge for 2019: 100% TDD